Fish Tacos with Broccoli Slaw

I probably wouldn’t have bothered to write up yet another evening of fish tacos except for two things.  One, I’m trying to be more consistent about writing.  And two, the broccoli slaw is new and it’s fantastic.  To see previous incarnations, see here.

There’s not a ton to say really.  The pre-shredded cabbage didn’t look good at the grocery store, but you can’t have fish tacos without something crunchy on them.  I was actually in the pre-cut vegetables section, which I never go to, looking for butternut squash noodles. (Talk about something not worth your time and energy when you can buy them pre-spiralized).  Right next to the “noodles” was a contained of broccoli slaw.  Crunchy.  Pre-cut.  Done.

I have no idea how people usually make broccoli slaw.  I don’t actually like raaw broccoli so my first step was to blanch the vegetables.  Cooking them just a touch takes that bitter rawness out, but leaves the crunchiness in.  Then a little mayonnaise, much less than I would use for regular slaw, and a few dashes of white vinegar.  Some salt and a little of the seafood seasoning I used on the fish, and voila!  Yummy topping for my tacos.

img_3677

I used catfish, as per usual.  It’s cheaper than most other fish in my part of the world and it has more flavor than something like tilapia.  A little seafood seasoning and a little canola oil.  2 minutes on each side.

img_3678

Corn tortillas, always. I did try a new thing with these too.  I was watching Pioneer Woman earlier today and she was making a taco skillet dish.  She put her tortillas on her gas burner to char them.  Let me say, that’s a great idea for adding flavor to a taco skillet.  However, it makes a tortilla you’re planning to stuff a little bit tough.  Not terrific.  I ate them anyway of course.

img_3679

Finish with some salsa or pico de gallo and some hot sauce and enjoy!

img_3680

Leave a comment