Herbed Lamb Meatballs

The first day of Daylight Savings Time.  As much as I love having light a little later in the day I can’t get used to this happening in early March instead of in April.  I’m just not ready to lose an hour yet.  Seeing as how I’ve started the week an hour behind I’m trying to get ahead on the cooking for the week.  I’ve still got a freezer full of food in the basement so I started there and planned my meals for the week around the pound of ground lamb that I found.  I have 16 meatballs that will be popping up in various dishes this week.  Oddly enough I had leftover salad for dinner so I still don’t know whether or not these are good.  Stay tuned for the salads, pita sandwiches and pasta dishes to come.

Herbed Lamb Meatballs

I made a couple of adjustments to this recipe.  I added an egg, just because that’s what  do when I make meatballs.  The best part is that there was enough mint in the garden to use fresh instead of dried.  I have the most amazing spearmint in the herb garden.  People come from all over the neighborhood to pick it during the Summer.  There were jut a few springs big enough to clip, but that was enough.  One reminder, if a recipe calls for dried herbs and you use fresh you’ll need 2-3 times as much as the recipe calls for.  I made 2/3 of a recipe because I only had a pound of lamb and then I made the meatballs a touch larger than the recipe prescribes.  It was just easier.

For cooking the use of a broiler pan is good advice.  It’s nice to cook them so that the fat drips off.  I don’t have a broiler pan that fits in my countertop oven.  I’ve found that using a small roasting pan  or jellyroll pan with a cookie cooling rack in it works just great. 

I’ll reserve further evaluation of these until I’ve actually eaten a few.

Herbed Lamb Meatballs

Ingredients

1 pound lean ground lamb
1/4 cup dry breadcrumbs
1/2 cup (2 ounces) crumbled feta cheese
3 tablespoons chopped fresh parsley
3 teaspoons chopped fresh mint
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon pepper
2 garlic cloves, crushed

Directions

Preheat oven to 400°.
Combine all ingredients except cooking spray in a large bowl, and stir well. Shape mixture into 16 meatballs. Place meatballs on a broiler pan coated with cooking spray. Bake at 400° for 15 minutes or until meatballs are done.

Leave a Reply

