Vegetarian Black Beans and Collards

It’s vegan night!  I thought I was having company for dinner and my planned guest is a vegan, at least temporarily.  By the time I found out he wasn’t able to make it dinner was mostly done.  After yesterday’s pork fest (ribs at football and pulled pork at dinner) I can definitely use something on the lighter side.  I usually put a little meat in my black beans and in my collards so this is new for me.  Good for me!  And just plain good.

Vegetarian Black Beans and Collards

I didn’t have a ton of time for cooking today and I didn’t plan ahead so I used canned black beans instead of soaking my own.  I have no problem with that.  Canned beans are perfectly acceptable.  It’s what you do with them that counts.  I cooked mine with bell pepper, onion, garlic, poblano pepper, vegetable stock and Goya seasoning.  Super yum.  The collards I did do from scratch, but with a very different pot liquor than my usual ham hock/smoked turkey variety.  I used olive oil, vegetable stock, garlic powder, salt and Tabasco.  Again, yum.

I served these side by side over rice, but by then end of the meal I just mixed everything together and added a little extra Tabasco for some kick.  I gotta say, this was a really good dinner.  And my arteries thank me!

Good? So good.
Easy? Absolutely.
Good for company? Definitely. It’s just as easy to make a lot as a little.
Special shopping? Nope. You’ll find the Goya seasoning in the int’l section of most grocery stores.

Vegetarian Black Beans and Collards

Ingredients

6 T olive oil, divided
3 C vegetable stock, divided
1 large onion, diced, divided
2 bunches collards, stemmed and chopped
1 t garlic powder
1 T Tabasco
1 red bell pepper, diced
1 poblano or jalapeno pepper, seeded and diced
3 cloves garlic, minced
2 cans black beans, drained and rinsed
2 packets Goya seasoning

Directions

Add 3 T oil, 2 C stock, 1/2 of the chopped onions, garlic powder and Tabasco to a large stock pot. Bring to a boil. Cover, reduce heat and simmer 20 minutes. Add the chopped collards and simmer, covered, 30-40 minutes, stirring occasionally.

Heat remaining 3 T oil in a large saute pan. When the oil begins to shimmer add bell pepper, poblano, remaining chopped onion and garlic. Saute 5-7 minutes, until vegetables soften. Add black beans, remaining cup of stock and Goya seasoning. Simmer uncovered 30 minutes.

Serve everything over rice, white or brown. Top with Tabasco to taste.

Leave a Reply

