Fresh Salsa Verde

Whew, happy to be home from some business travel!  And ready to put the garden to bed for the year. Of course that means that while I was away the garden was busy starting over, kind of.  Bunches of green tomatoes on the vine; a few bush beans; and more peppers than I know what to do with.  I took out the tomatoes, beans and squash yesterday.  I’m going to give the peppers another week to finish what they’ve started.  So, that left me with lots of green tomatoes to deal with – but not enough to bother with the whole canning thing.  Salsa verde it is.

Normally salsa verde is made with tomatillos, but I’ve found that really green tomatoes work just as well.  It’s a great use for the tomatoes left on the vine at the end of the season.  The small ones are best because they have fewer seeds and other tomato gunk.  I had a few dozen green Juliet tomatoes that worked great.  The great thing about these is that they don’t have to be husked, cored, peeled or anything.  I quarter them and throw them in the food processor.  Add some garlic, cilantro, jalapenos and salt; pulse a few times; and you’re done.  Couldn’t be easier.

It turns out a little briny; a little crunchy; a little sharp; and a beautiful bright green.  It’s perfect for a lot of things.  Feel free to eat it as is with chips.  I used 2 cups or so – half in white turkey chili and half as garnish – tonight for football watching.  I ended up with 6 half pint jars to spare and share.  Yum.  I’ll be using one of my jars with chicken or fish later this week I’m sure.  Try it with enchiladas too!

I put the leftovers in jars, but feel free to put some in freezer bags and lay them out flat for freezing.  It will keep for months and be easy to store that way.  This recipe is completely scaleable to feel free to make as little or as much as you like at one time.

Good? So good.  Maybe better because the tomatoes and peppers came from my own garden.
Easy? So easy. A knife and a food processor. That’s it.
Good for company? Sure, make extra for sharing!
Special shopping? Definitely not. Absolutely use tomatillos if you don’t have green tomatoes.

Fresh Salsa Verde

Ingredients

3 lbs small green tomatoes, quartered
6 cloves garlic
4 jalapenos, seeded and rough chopped (use more or fewer to adjust the heat level)
2/3 bunch fresh cilantro, rough chopped
salt to taste

Directions

Put everything in a food processor and pulse until ingredients are chopped fine. Add a little water if needed.

Leave a Reply

