Shrimp and Shiitake Salad with Maple Dressing

It’s meatless Monday!  And it’s a great day to use some of my haul from the Saturday farmers’ market – including shrimp, shiitakes, green onions and arugula.  This is a perfectly nice little salad.  The original recipe suggests this as a side salad, but I was too tired to come up with a main dish so a little shrimp for protein and there’s dinner.

Let’s start with the mechanics.  This is wicked easy to put together.  Whisk together a little dressing; slice and saute mushrooms; slice green onions; chop a little cilantro.  Toss together.  Done.  Two recipe alterations tonight.  I used shiitake instead of button mushrooms because I like them a lot better and that’s what they had at the market.  I used toasted sesame oil to saute the mushrooms, again because I like it better.  A definite thumbs up on the sesame oil.

It’s a little hard to write about this dish because I don’t have strong feelings about it.  It was fine.  I love shrimp and I love shiitake mushrooms so as long as it was edible that was going to be okay with me.  The dressing is a little sweet and a little flat for me.  That was a surprise because maple and lime sounded like a fantastic combo.  And it would be – on banana bread.  There’s not enough sesame oil or soy sauce in here to balance the maple and lime.  I added extra of both to add a little bit of salty and nutty, but it just didn’t get there.  I didn’t want to add a lot because I didn’t want to have a bunch leftover.  Honestly I used 3 teaspoons on my salad and dumped the rest down the drain.  On the up-side I have some shrimp and mushrooms leftover that I can eat with just a little soy and ginger and be happy as a clam.

Good? Eh.  Fine, but I can’t commit to good.
Easy? You bet – 5 stars on the easy scale.
Good for company? Definitely not.
Special shopping? Nope.

Shrimp and Shiitake Salad with Maple Dressing

Ingredients

2 tablespoons lime juice
2 tablespoons maple syrup
1/4 teaspoon low-sodium soy sauce
2 teaspoons sesame oil, divided
1/8 teaspoon black pepper
2 C sliced shiitake mushrooms
8 oz cooked, peeled shrimp
4 cups gourmet salad greens
1/3 cup chopped green onions
1 tablespoon finely chopped fresh cilantro

Directions

Combine the first 5 ingredients in a small bowl, including 1/2 t sesame oil, and stir well with a whisk.
Heat 1 1/2 t sesame oil in a large nonstick skillet coated with cooking spray over medium-high heat. Add mushrooms; sauté for 6 minutes or until tender. After 4 minutes add shrimp to pan along with 2 T water. Cover. Heat 2 more minutes or until shrimp are warm through. Remove from heat; add maple mixture, tossing to coat. Combine greens, onions, and cilantro in a large bowl. Add mushroom mixture, tossing to coat. Serve immediately.

Leave a Reply

