Pork Chops with Shiitake Mushrooms

I bet you thought I’d given up cooking.  Not so!  True, my kitchen time has been a little bit limited lately, but not nearly as limited as my time for writing about cooking.  So, I’m going to start with tonight’s dinner and then work my way back.  This is the world’s quickest dinner.  It takes about 3 minutes of chopping; six minutes on the pork chops; and five more to cook the shiitakes and the side of zucchini.  That makes it 15 minutes from the time you hit the kitchen to the time you pick up your fork to eat.  Not bad at all.

I have to thank the Ault’s for the pork chop; Steve Haas for the lovely mushrooms and Victory Farms for the green onions.  I get to pat myself on the back too because the zucchini came from my garden about three minutes before it went into the pan.  Yum!  I cheated a little on the sauce.  I put a little store bought ginger and soy dressing on the mushrooms and green onions and added just a little honey.  For the zucchini I deglazed the pork chop pan with a little water, added the squash and a little plain soy sauce.  Done.  Shiitakes and green onions are one of my favorite flavor and texture combinations:  chewy with crunchy, earthy with green.  So good.

Overall this was a perfectly good 15 minute, use what’s in the fridge meal.  My neighbor calls this “kitchen cooking.”  You just use whatever’s in the kitchen.  It’s a good way to use up what you have and if you know you can do it in 15 minutes it’s likely to keep you out of the drive through line too.

Good? Good.  Not spectacular, but absolutely good.
Easy? Beyond easy.
Good for company? Not so much, but if someone stops by unexpectedly it would work fine.
Special shopping? Nope. It’s kitchen cooking.

Pork Chops with Shiitake Mushrooms

9 ounces pork loin chop, cut into 3 servings
salt and pepper
1-2 cups fresh shiitakes, stemmed and sliced
3 green onions, sliced
2 tbsp ginger/soy dressing
1 tsp honey

1/4 water
1 zucchini diced
1 tsp soy sauce

Directions

Heat a heavy skillet. Salt and pepper both sides of the pork chop.
When the pan begins to smoke add the pork chop. Cook 3 minutes on each side. Remove from pan. Set aside to rest.

Add water to pan and stir. Add zucchini and soy sauce. Cook 3-5 minutes until zucchini is crisp tender.

In a smaller pan heat a little cooking spray. Add shiitakes and green onions. Add dressing and honey. Cook until mushrooms are soft.

Leave a Reply

