Arugula Tabbouli

Tabbouli (or tabbouleh) has been my go to summer salad for a couple of years.  I always keep it in the fridge and then pull out a little and add whatever I feel like to complete it for that meal.  This time I decided to try changing up the tabbouli.  Usually it’s made with a few cups of parsley  I had about 1/2 a bag of arugula left so I decided to use that.  Yum!  Peppery tabbouli.

 

I did use a little parsley because I had about 1/3 of a bunch left in the fridge.  It ended up being about 1 part parsley to 6 parts arugula.  And then the standard cucumbers, green onions, lemon juice, olive oil, salt and pepper.  It’s really simple.  I’ll add a few chopped tomatoes when I get ready to eat it, but I try to avoid refrigerating fresh tomatoes.  I might add some chicken, shrimp or fish to make it a one dish meal.  Lots of possibilities.

The arugula gives it a nice peppery kick that’s a terrific balance to the bright citrus of the lemon juice and the sharp greenness of the green onions.  The olive oil adds the perfect buttery smoothness.  So, so good.  Let it sit in the fridge a few hours before serving it if you can. It just gets better as it sits.  And with no mayonnaise it’s a fantastic picnic salad!

If you want to see my last take on this yummy salad check the post from last Spring.

Good? One of my favorites.
Easy? Yep.
Good for company? Sure, a healthy side for lots of things.
Special shopping? Not really, though sometimes I have difficulty finding bulghur. Check the bulk foods and international sections of your grocery store.

Arugula Tabbouli

Ingredients

1/2 C uncooked bulghur
1 C vegetable stock

3 C chopped arugula
1/2 C chopped parsley
2 green onions, whites and greens, chopped
1 large cucumber, peeled, seeded and chopped
juice of 1 large lemon, plus more to taste
1/8-1/4 C good quality olive oil
salt
black or red pepper to taste

Directions

Bring the stock to a boil. Add the bulghur to the stock. Cover and remove from heat. Let sit, covered 40-45 minutes.
Fluff bulghur with a fork and put in a large bowl. Toss with remaining ingredients.
Refigerate until ready to serve.

Leave a Reply

