Zucchini Mini Quiche

The zucchini recipes just keep coming.  This is a Weight Watchers recipe.  Turns out these are the perfect 1 point breakfast or snack food.  This recipe has managed to avoid the overly egg-y texture of most quiche.  These are light and fluffy and yummy.  Make a whole bunch and freeze them for later!

The recipe says that it makes 24 mini quiche.  I only made up half a recipe and ended up with 22 mini quiche.  I left out a couple of things because I decided they weren’t necessary.  These have no sugar and no basil.  I thought about using parsley, but I didn’t feel like chopping it.  Other than that I followed the recipe.  I did choose to grate the zucchini and the onion.  I think you get a better texture and it’s a ton faster than chopping.  The directions say to stir after spooning the mix into each cup.  It’s kind of a pain, but I think it’s important.  If you don’t then all the flour will settle to the bottom. 

The only thing slightly annoying about the directions is that they tell you to cook these until the bottoms are golden brown.  I don’t know about yours, but my mini muffin pans aren’t glass.  I can’t see what color the bottoms are.  I baked these in my counter top oven so I had to bake them on separate racks.  Probably that extended the cooking time a little.  I ended up baking the pan on the top rack about 18 minutes.  After I took those out I moved the pan from the bottom to the top and baked them another 3-4 minutes.  Worked out just fine.

Next time I’ll add some oregano and maybe some lemon zest, but I’ll leave out the added salt.  The parmesan is salty enough without adding any extra salt.  And next time I’ll make the whole recipe because these are really good!

Good? Yep.
Easy? Yep.
Good for company? Yep.
Special shopping? Nope.

Zucchini Mini Quiche

Ingredients

1 medium uncooked zucchini, grated
1 small uncooked onion(s), grated
1/2 cup(s) shredded Parmesan cheese, about 1 oz
3 large egg(s)
1/4 cup(s) all-purpose flour
1 1/2 Tbsp olive oil, extra virgin
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp kosher salt
1/4 tsp black pepper

Directions

Preheat oven to 375°F. Coat two 24-hole nonstick mini muffin pans with cooking spray (or use just one pan and cook in two batches).
Combine all ingredients in a large bowl; spoon about 1 heaping tablespoon egg mixture into each prepared hole, making sure to stir mixture after filling each one.
Bake until bottoms are golden brown and quiche are cooked through, about 15 minutes. Remove pan(s) from oven and let quiche cool for a few minutes in pan(s); remove quiche to a wire rack to cool more (and repeat with remaining ingredients if necessary). Yields 1 quiche per serving.

Leave a Reply

