Pimiento Cheese Stuffed Tomatoes

Whew, it’s been a whirlwind weekend in the kitchen.  Last night was potluck so I’ll start there.  Knowing that I had the family coming for Father’s Day dinner today I signed up to bring an appetizer for potluck.  We’ve taken to having themes for potluck.  This month was gluten free month.  Gluten free isn’t so hard to do when the vegetables are as wonderful as they are this time of year.  It was a wonderful meal of lamb roast, lentil salad and chocolate chip meringues for dessert. I kicked it all off with these lovely little tomatoes.

The challenge for me was how to serve up the pimiento cheese without using bread or crackers.  Yes, I could have used gluten-free crackers, and there are some good ones, but I was trying to avoid investing in a special food product.  I found these little ‘strawberry tomatoes.’  They’re the perfect size for something like this.  Bigger than grape or cherry tomatoes, but lots smaller than a roma.  I’m hoping that maybe my Juliet tomatoes will fit the bill later this summer.  Anyway, I halved the tomatoes and scooped out the innards.  A scant teaspoon of pimiento cheese in each one and that’s it.  Yum.  The perfect delivery system for my famous pimiento cheese.

I’ve made the pimiento cheese before so I won’t reprint it here.  Here’s the link.  I did this a touch differently.  I grated this cheese with the food processor instead of a box grater in the interest of time.  I left out the cayenne this  time, but added a little garlic powder.  I left out the white cheddar/mayonnaise fluff and stuck with straight mayonnaise this time.  Again, I was long on chores and short on hours this weekend.  Two things that are non-negotiable:  Duke’s mayonnaise (I’ll give you a pass if it’s not available in your geographic area, but only then) and a teaspoon of smoked paprika.  It really does make this something special.

These went like hotcakes at potluck.  They weren’t as cute in reality as they were in my mind, but it’s an awfully convenient way to serve pimiento cheese to a group.  And it’s leaps and bounds better than stuffing celery!

Leave a Reply

