White Bean Hummus with Rosemary

I love hummus.  Mostly it’s been one of those things that I loathe buying because it’s cheap to make and comparatively expensive to buy.  The problem is that my homemade hummus has never been remotely as good as what I can buy.  This recipe has real possibilities for turning that tide.  I’ll tell you that the most amazing hummus I’ve ever had is made by the mom of a friend of mine in Northern Virginia.  This isn’t in the same class as that, but it’s darn good.

I think my problem in the past is that my hummus hasn’t had enough liquid in it so it’s always been too dense.  Too much oil and not enough water.  The recipe calls for lemon juice and vinegar.  The vinegar was a first for me.  I think next time I’d sub out half of the vinegar for water.  In fairness it’s meant to be served on flatbread with shrimp and caramelilzed onions.  Served that way it probably balances the other flavors quite nicely, but it’s a little much for snacking on with grape tomatoes.  Also bear in mind that rosemary is a strong flavor.  If you like it, great.  If it’s not your favorite you might use only half of what’s called for here.  I think the sweet, herby flavor of the rosemary is important to balance the tartness of the hummus, but you could use parsley instead.

This recipe gets 5 stars for texture and maybe 3 1/2 for taste.  White beans are softer and creamier than chickpeas so it’s easier to get a fluffy texture.  I think with just a few adjustments I can get to 5 stars on flavor too.  First, there’s too much vinegar.  Easy to fix with a water substitution for half.  And then there’s the garlic.  If I’d read the recipe all the way through I would have seen that it calls for roasting the garlic.  That mellows the flavor significantly.  Five large cloves of raw garlic is bound to add a kick to any recipe.  Of course it also means that other people might not want to be near you.  A little less rosemary and this will be perfect for snacking. 

The great thing about hummus is that it’s pretty good for you.  (This recipe has only 1 tablespoon of olive oil).  I love no guilt snacking.  It’s also perfect for taking places.  It can sit out at picnics or potlucks without spoiling.  But then it’s usually eaten before it sits very long!

Good? Good, on the way to great
Easy? Yep, a can opener and a food processor is all you need.
Good for company? You bet.
Special shopping? Nope.

White Bean Hummus with Rosemary

Ingredients

5 garlic cloves
1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil
1 1/8 teaspoons kosher salt
1 (15-ounce) can white beans, rinsed and drained
2 tablespoons white vinegar
2 teaspoons fresh lemon juice
1 tablespoon tahini
1 teaspoon fresh rosemary, finely chopped

Directions

Add all ingredients to a food processor. Puree until smooth, about 2 minutes.

Leave a Reply

