Chocolate Peanut Butter Mousse

This is the dessert I planned for a friends birthday.  She and I share a love of peanut butter pie and the opinion that there are many more bad ones than good in restaurants around town.  The plan was to make Black Bottom Peanut Butter Mousse Pie.  Mostly that’s what I did.  The peanut butter mousse became chocolate peanut butter mousse and it was perfect – creamy, fluffy and wonderful.  The black bottom pie part fell pretty far short of perfect – runny, grainy and not very picturesque.

True confession time – I bought the graham cracker crust.  Some time ago I decided that life was too short for me to make my own pie crust.  I’m just not good at it.  But Pillsbury is, so I let them do it.  My other substitution is likely what caused part of the problem.  I didn’t have quite as much cream as I needed so I substituted about 1/2 C reduced fat (2%) milk – part in the chocolate bottom and part in the mousse.  When I poured the chocolate into the pie crust there was way too much chocolate, (I know, way too much chocolate?  What?) so I saved about 1/3 C for later.  As instructed I put the pie shell with the chocolate bottom in the freezer.  It never set up.  It was in there for an hour or so before I added the mousse and still runny.  Ugh.

On to the mousse.  I added the leftover chocolate mix to the melted peanut butter chips.  Yum.  The mousse was pretty soft when I put it in the pie crust.  Soft enough that it was easier to pour than to spoon.  It chilled for maybe 8 hours and by then the mousse was fine.  It set up perfectly.  Sadly when I tried to slice the pie the chocolate stuff ran all over the place.  Instead of nice slices on plates we ended up with bowls of mousse with graham cracker crust crumbled on top and chocolate sauce added on top of that.  It didn’t look nice, but it sure tasted good!

It was so good that the non-dessert eater in the crowd ate her entire bowlful and then had more then next evening.  Trust me when I tell you that’s high praise!  Next time I’ll use all cream and I’m sure it will be as pretty as it was yummy.  But if not, I feel confident that no one will complain about eating a bowl of this amazing mousse.

Good? So, so good.
Easy? Clearly not.
Good for company? Absolutely.
Special shopping? Nope.

I’m going to give you the mousse recipe here. If you want to make the Black Bottom Peanut Butter Mousse Pie just hit the link and see the whole recipe.

Chocolate Peanut Butter Mousse

Ingredients

1/3 cups bittersweet or semisweet chocolate chips
2 cups chilled whipping cream, divided
1 1/2 tablespoons light corn syrup
1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract, divided
6 ounces (1 cup) peanut butter chips
2 tablespoons creamy peanut butter (do not use old-fashioned style or freshly ground)

Directions

Combine chocolate and peanut butter chips, 1 cup of cream and 1 teaspoon of vanilla in a large microwave-safe bowl on medium heat at 15-second intervals just until chips soften, stirring often. Whisk in peanut butter and remaining 1/2 teaspoon vanilla until smooth. Cool to barely lukewarm. Beat remaining 1 cup cream and 2 tablespoons sugar in medium bowl until very thick but not yet holding peaks; fold into peanut butter mixture in 3 additions. Chill at least 1 hour and up to 1 day.

Leave a Reply

