Portuguese Noodle Bowl

It’s been a long day here, for a lot of reasons.  The plan for tonight was comfort food that celebrates the garden and the farmers’ market and some wine on the side.  I made my first garden harvest today.  I pulled in the beet greens and the collards to make way for a few additional tomatoes and another squash plant.  All I can say is, “Yay baby collards!”  White beans, Faith Farm Chorizo, Bombolini Black Pepper Linguine cooked with collards, onions and garlic – it’s a meal made in heaven.  I could have eaten the entire pot.

This is seriously easy to make.  One pot for the stew part and one pot for the pasta.  It took me about 40 minutes to put together, but I’d guess that I could do it in 30 if I was motivated.  The recipe recommends cooking the greens in the broth for 25 minutes, but since I used baby greens they only took about 10 minutes.  I took the chorizo out of the casing and cooked it into crumbles.  You don’t get the punch of flavor you’d get from eating the slices, but it makes the flavor really even.  If you’re looking to save time you could absolutely use pre-chopped onions and garlic.  Note that there’s no added salt in this recipe.  With the chorizo you won’t need it.  I also didn’t add any black pepper because I used black pepper linguine.  If you use plain pasta definitely add the pepper.

First let me say that I’m extremely proud of these collards.  I started them from seed.  This is my third attempt at growing collards and my first success.  Baby collards are so mild you could likely eat them steamed, but I really enjoyed the pot liquor they made with the homemade chicken stock, chorizo and other vegetables.  Definitely worthy of slurping straight from the bowl.  Now some kudos to Faith Farm.  They make some of the best sausage in town – sweet Italian, hot Italian, chorizo, etc.  Nothing fancy, but fantastic all the same.  This is just the right balance of salty and spicy.  The perfect balance for the creamy white beans and earthy greens. Note that this is Mexican style chorizo. It’s soft and can be cooked in the casing like other sausages or crumbled like I did here. Spanish and Portuguese style chorizos are dried sausages so served in slices. (I’m pretty sure I have that right).

There’s nothing in the world fancy about this meal, but it’s darned good and then some.  It’s a complete meal in one bowl – protein, vegetables, starch – but I’d be tempted to add some crusty bread on the side for sopping up the broth if I was serving it to company.  Somehow slurping from the bowl seems tacky if you have people over, but this dish is totally worth being just the slightest bit tacky so as not to miss a single bite. I only made half a recipe, but I might be sorry about that!

Good? So very good.
Easy? Absolutely.
Good for company? Not fancy, but definitely worth sharing.
Special shopping? You can get chorizo at better groceries, but if you have a source at a local farmers’ market or butcher shop I recommend that.

Portuguese Noodle Bowl

Ingredients

1 pound collard greens
1/2 pound chorizo or spicy sausage
3 cups chopped onion
6 garlic cloves, chopped
6 C chicken broth
1 (15-ounce) can cannellini beans, drained
1/4 teaspoon black pepper
8 ounces linguine

Directions

Remove stems from collard greens. Wash and pat dry; cut crosswise into 1-inch-wide strips.
Cook the sausage in a large Dutch oven over medium heat until browned. Remove sausage from pan with a slotted spoon, reserving sausage drippings. Add onion and garlic to drippings in pan, and sauté for 5 minutes or until tender. Add greens, sausage, and broth, and bring to a boil. Cover, reduce heat, and simmer 25 minutes or until greens are tender. Add beans and pepper, and cook 10 minutes. Place pasta in each of 6 large bowls, and top with broth mixture.

Leave a Reply

