Strawberry Avocado Salsa

The strawberries are in! Welcome to Spring! Last night was potluck and I volunteered for appetizers. I had some black bean butter left over from book club so I just needed something else that would go with tortilla chips. I found this recipe by searching cookinglight.com for appetizers and narrowing to Spring. Excellent choice!

This recipe is unbelievably easy. It only has 6 ingredients. I had an avocado left from the tostados I never made. Ditto some cilantro and a red onion. I just had to pick up some limes and some strawberries. I forgot to pick up a fresh jalapeno so I used a mix of crushed hot peppers instead. A pinch of salt and done. The red onion wasn’t in the original recipe, but I think it was a nice addition. The only thing that’s even a little bit tedious about this recipe is chopping the strawberries as fine as they need to be. The avocado was a little soft so the salsa didn’t turn out as pretty as I would have liked, but it tasted great.

This little bowl of salsa has everything: sweet, hot, citrus, salt, green and creamy. The recipe recommends serving this salsa with cinnamon and sugar tortilla chips. I think the regular salty tortilla chips work just as well or better. I like the salt against the sweetness of the strawberries and the citrus of the lime. The crushed peppers added considerably more heat than a fresh jalapeno. It’s the kind of heat that hits a little late and in the back of your throat. So yummy.

It was a big hit at potluck. And I’ll tell you that a few days did wonderful things for the black bean butter too. They were a nice start to a wonderful dinner of low country boil, bread with roasted garlic and raspberry bars for dessert. Oh how I love the potluck group!

Good? Very good.
Easy? Very easy.
Good for company? Yep.
Special shopping? Just get the strawberries in season. This would be wasted on strawberries you find in November imported from half way around the world.

Strawberry Avocado Salsa

Ingredients

1 ripe avocado, peeled and chopped
1 cup finely chopped strawberries
1/3 C finely chopped red onion
1/3 C minced fresh cilantro
1/4 teaspoon crushed red or mixed pepper
2 teaspoons fresh lime juice
3/8 teaspoon salt

Preparation

Mix everything in a bowl. Serve with tortilla chips.

Leave a Reply

