Orange and Olive Salad

Tonight was a leftovers night.  I invited two friends over to help me make my way through the Carolina Fish Muddle.  Since I had guests I felt like I needed to add a little something to make it feel more like a dinner party.  Salad is always a welcome addition.  The is a nice light salad with a little sweet and a little salty and a little citrus.  It would be good with just about any main dish.

I followed the recipe except that I left out the fennel.  I don’t like fennel.  And I used romaine hearts instead of Bibb lettuce.  I find that romaine hearts last the longest in the fridge so I’d rather keep those around than throw away a bunch of wilty lettuce after a couple of days.  The worst part of this salad is sectioning the oranges.  I always remove all of the membrane which is inevitably a tedious and messy job.  If you can buy oranges already sectioned, do it.  The best part is the dressing.  The recipe only makes a tiny bit of dressing, but it’s enough. The oranges add some juice too.  The olives keep the salad from being overly sweet.  A little shout out to Faith Farms for supplying the raw honey.  Yum.

Good? Really good.  Light and lovely.
Easy? Easy peasy.
Good for company? Absolutely.
Special shopping? Nope.

Orange and Olive Salad

Ingredients

2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice
1 1/2 teaspoons honey
1/4 teaspoon black pepper
1/8 teaspoon salt
4 cups torn Bibb lettuce
1 cup fresh orange sections

Directions

Combine first 5 ingredients in a large bowl. Add remaining ingredients; toss gently.

Leave a Reply

