Chicken Tortilla Bake

Daylight Savings Time means more light in the evenings which this time of year means weeding the beds for Spring.  That pretty much translates into no time for cooking.  Lucky for me I made this yesterday!  Just between you and me it was supposed to be chicken enchiladas, but every time I tried to soften the tortillas in the sauce so that I could roll them up they fell completely apart.  I finally gave up and arranged everything in layers.  It doesn’t look as nice, but it sure tastes good.

Even though the Pantry Challenge is over I’m still trying to use at least some of the things I have on hand.  I have a bunch of diced roasted chicken in the freezer so I decided to start with that.  I had about a cup of sweet corn left so I wanted a recipe, not soup, that I could use both in.  The Jan/Feb issue of Cooking Light has 25 chicken recipes including one for chicken enchiladas.  I was able to cut out several ingredients and steps since I started with cooked chicken.  You could start these with rotisserie chicken too.  Last summer I experimented with freezing some of my salsa verde so I pulled that out and added it to half a jar of my home canned tomatoes.  A few aromatic vegetables, some cream cheese, spices and a touch of cream – done.

If you’re looking for enchiladas covered in a tomato-y sauce this isn’t what you’re looking for. These are white enchiladas – made with salsa verde and low fat cream cheese.  Next time I’ll probably add more jalapeno and some chili powder for a little extra kick, but if you’ve got an anti-spicy contingent in your crew these will be perfect.  Flavorful, but not hot.  I absolutely recommend the layering approach.  It’s much, much faster and much, much neater than rolling enchiladas. 

I’m trying to remember my veggies these days too.  I had some green beans from last summer’s garden so I sauteed them in olive oil with salt, chili powder and smoked paprika.  Yum! 

Good? Very good.
Easy? Yep, if you stack instead of roll!
Good for company? Not fancy, but good comfort food.
Special shopping? Nope, still working on the freezer stores.

Chicken Tortilla Bake

Ingredients

1 C salsa verde
2 C chicken stock
1/4 C half and half
1 t oil
1/2 onion, diced
1 jalapeno, diced
2 cloves garlic, diced
2 C cooked, diced chicken
1 C sweet corn
1 C chopped tomato (I used canned, not fresh)
1/4 C chopped fresh cilantro
1/2 t cumin
1/4 t salt
1/4 t cayenne pepper
4 oz low fat cream cheese
8-10 corn tortillas
2 oz sharp cheddar, grated

Directions

In a sauce pan combine salsa and chicken stock. Simmer until reduced to 1 1/2 C. About 30 minutes. Stir in cream. Keep warm.

Heat oil in a skillet and saute onions, jalapeno and garlic until soft.

In a large bowl combine skillet vegetables, chicken and next 7 ingredients – through cream cheese. Stir until well blended.

In a small rectangular baking dish tortillas, sauce and filling, beginning and ending with tortillas. Top with grated cheese. Bake uncovered at 400 for 20 minutes.

If you make this ahead of time leave the cheese off until you’re ready to bake it. Set it out to come to room temperature before baking. Alternatively reduce the heat to 350 and bake without cheese for 20 minutes. Add cheese, increase oven temp to 400 and bake another 20 minutes.

Leave a Reply

