Let the Gardening Begin!

It’s a gorgeous day in Central Virginia – perfect for playing in the dirt.  For the first time I actually got some early Spring seeds in the ground outside.  With a little luck there will be peas, collards and beets in a few weeks!

It’s also high time to get the seeds started for the Summer garden.  Fortunately my seed order from Victory Seeds came in last week so I was all set.  And then I decided to check in with a friend and neighbor to see if she wanted to swap some seeds.  Score!  We traded some peppers and tomatoes so I ended up with some new kinds.  Today I started seeds for basil, pickling cucumbers, summer squash, zucchini, eggplant, a variety of peppers and ten different kinds of tomatoes.  Can’t wait until their little green sprouts start to appear!

I’m trying something new this year.  I’ve displaced the dog from her spot in the corner so that my seed pots can get the sun from both sets of windows. My seedlings have always been pretty small and spindly when I plant them outside.  I’d really like to have bigger ones this year to jump start the garden.  Last year I learned that they’ll grow a little better if they get some heat from underneath.  I have extra sturdy trays this year and I’ve put them on an electric blanket to provide a little warmth.  We’ll see if that helps.

Stay tuned, folks!   If even one plant from each vegetable makes it I’ll have 36 plants to find a place for outside.  There will be seedlings to trade!

Leave a Reply

