Coconut Beef

We’re halfway through week 2 of the Pantry Challenge and on the second crock pot meal of the week.  I had another long day at work (I know, that’s getting to be par for the course) and a guest coming for dinner.  The only way to get dinner on the table by 7 and still feel sociable was to let dinner cook while I was away.  I added some rice and some sauteed beans from last year’s garden.  Not impressive, but pretty good.

This is another recipe from the Make It Fast, Cook It Slow cookbook.  The flavors are really good.  Hard to go wrong with coconut milk and lime juice.  The texture was not so good.  I thought the beef was a little chewy.  I used one pound of stew meat – so that should have been fine – and one pound of kabob meat – which would have been better prepared another way. I put the meat in the crockpot frozen.  It got plenty done so that wasn’t a problem.  The meat was still in a block though so all the pieces didn’t get cooked in the sauce.  In the end the rice with the sauce on it was the best part of this dish.  Still it’s worth eating the leftovers I think. The sauce is good enough that I’d consider making this with chicken.

The big highlight of this meal was the beans.  I thawed them in the vacuum packed bag in the fridge; patted them dry and sauteed them with a little olive oil and chili garlic sauce.   Yum.  I love that they still taste like beans from the garden even 8 months after I picked them.

Good? Yes, but only just.
Easy? Yep, crockpot meals are the easiest.
Good for company? Well, my company was very nice about it, but I wouldn’t serve this again.
Special shopping? Nope.

I can’t reproduce the recipe here because I followed it exactly and I can’t find an online copy.  It wouldn’t be hard to put together something similar.  Coconut milk, onions, garlic, lime juice, cumin, brown sugar and ginger are pretty standard ingredients for a dish like this.  Throw in some other spices that you usually use with ginger in savory dishes if you like.  There aren’t any real cooking instructions.  Throw everything in the crockpot and let it go for 8 hours or so.

Leave a Reply

