Cream of Mushroom Soup

Soup number two for the week.  I don’t know about you, but when I hear the words “cream of mushroom soup” my mind goes immediately to the Campbell’s condensed soup that is a casserole staple.  This is nothing like that.  Cooking Light lists this as a first course soup and I have to go with them on that.  I had it for dinner without a second course and I imagine I’ll be scrounging for a snack soon.

This soup is okay.  If it had been my first course and I had something else to look forward to it might have been more satisfying.  If it had been easier to make I might have been more excited about it.  If a lot of things I guess.  I even did the chopping last night so that it would be easier tonight.  The reality is that any soup that has to be pureed is a big pain in the rear.  I could have used the immersion blender instead of the real blender I suppose, but I really wanted a smooth and silky texture.  It is smooth and silky.  It’s earthy and a little sweet and a little salty.  It’s also a little thin and a little blah.  Just to add a little extra punch, while the soup was simmering I decided to saute some of the leftover mushrooms in a little butter and tawny port.  Now those are good!

One tip so important that it gets its own paragraph.  Puree the soup in small batches and hold the lid of the blender down tight unless you want to be wiping mushroom soup off of your cabinets!

I only made a 1/2 recipe.  The full recipe makes 12 cups!  The recipe below is already halved so if you make it expect about 6 cups.  At the moment I’m kind of wondering what I’m going to do with the rest of it.  I’m thinking I might braise pork chops in it later this week.  I don’t know that I’ll eat it as soup again though.

Good?  Meh.  It’s fine.
Easy? Nope, it’s kind of a pain.
Good for company? Definitely not.
Special shopping? Nope. Everything is easy to find.

Cream of Mushroom Soup

Ingredients

1 teaspoons olive oil
1 cup chopped onion
1/2 cup thinly sliced carrot
1/3 cup chopped celery
6 C sliced cremini mushrooms
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon black pepper
4 C chicken stock
6 tablespoons half-and-half
1/4 cup dry sherry
1/4 cup chopped fresh parsley

Directions

Heat oil in a Dutch oven over medium-high heat. Add onion, carrot, and celery; sauté 6 minutes or until tender. Reduce heat to medium; add mushrooms and garlic. Cook 7 minutes or until mushrooms are tender, stirring frequently. Add water, sage, salt, pepper, and broth; bring to a simmer. Cover and simmer 25 minutes. Remove from heat; cool 5 minutes.
Place half of mushroom mixture in a blender; process until smooth. Pour pureed soup into a large bowl. Repeat procedure with remaining mushroom mixture. Return soup to pan. Stir in half-and-half and sherry; cook over low heat 5 minutes or until thoroughly heated, stirring frequently. Sprinkle each serving with 1 teaspoon parsley.

Leave a Reply

