Sausage and Spinach Soup

It’s a soup night for lots of reasons:  it’s cold; I’m hungry and needed something that would come together quickly;  I had some odds and ends in the fridge and soup is usually good for taking care of those.  This recipe is a winner on all counts.  Warm, easy and happens to call for all the odds and ends that I had.  A little sausage – left from New Year’s Day.  A little onion – left from the Black-eyed Pea Cakes.  A few white beans – left from dinner out on New Year’s Eve.  A lot of yum!

I’ve made a sausage and white bean with greens soup before.  (See Soup’s On from January of 2010).  That was a good soup, but I really like the tomatoes in this.  And this is a little more brothy which is nice too.  I had 2 links of the hot italian sausage, half a sweet onion and maybe a cup of white beans in the fridge.  I keep chicken stock in the freezer and tomatoes in the canning pantry and garlic in the fridge.  I happened to have some spinach left from my last Relay Foods order.  That’s everything except the fresh herbs, which I didn’t have so I used dried instead.  Just remember that if you use dried herbs you need to add them much earlier so the flavor has time to develop.  I left out the cheese.  There’s plenty of flavor in this soup without it.

This soup is very, very easy.  Remove the sausage from the casing; chop the onion; stem the spinach.  Everything else gets dumped in as is.  No fuss, no muss and only one pot.  The whole thing takes about 20 minutes start to finish.   Since I was using odds and ends I had a little less sausage and fewer white beans than the recipe called for.  To balance that I left out a 1/2 cup of water and added an extra cup of spinach.  I didn’t have baby spinach so I cut the stems from the leaves and then did a rough chop to make the spinach easier to manage with a spoon.

This soup is so, so good.  The flavor is really bright and clean.  I really like the hot sausage in it, but feel free to use a sweet, mild sausage instead.  Because I used white beans leftover from a restaurant appetizer there’s a little lemon juice and some extra pepper from those.  Feel free to add a squeeze of lemon juice to liven things up a little.  I think I’m ok with the dried basil.  Fresh basil is so sweet that I’m afraid it would throw the other flavors out of balance. Dried basil is a little more subtle.  This soup is very, very easy.  Remove the sausage from the casing; chop the onion; stem the spinach.  Everything else gets dumped in as is.  No fuss, no muss and only one pot.  The whole thing takes about 20 minutes start to finish.  Exactly what I needed!

Good? Very.
Easy? Very.
Good for company? Sure, serve it with a salad and some good bread.
Special shopping? Nope.

Sausage and Spinach Soup

Ingredients

2 links hot Italian sausage (about 8 oz), casings removed
1 C chopped onion
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 t dried basil
1 1/2 t dried oregano
1/2 t salt
2 C chicken stock
1 pint (or 1 14 oz can) whole peeled tomatoes, undrained
1 C cannellini beans
3 C coarsely chopped fresh spinach

Directions

Remove casings from sausage. Cook sausage in a large saucepan over high heat until browned, stirring to crumble. Add onion and garlic to pan; cook for 2 minutes. Stir in stock, basil, oregano, salt, tomatoes, and beans. Break up the tomatoes with a spoon.  Bring to a boil. Cook at a low boil for 3 minutes. Reduce to a simmer. Stir in spinach.  Cook one minute.

One Response to “Sausage and Spinach Soup”

  1. Godzilaw Says:

    Made this over the weekend – so, so, so good!

Leave a Reply

