Honey Roasted Brussels Sprouts

Last night I was invited to a friend’s house for turkey burgers and offered to bring a side.  The perfect opportunity to finish up the two pound bag of brussels sprouts I had in the veggie drawer.  It’s hard to make brussels sprouts exciting.  I searched a couple of sites for recipes and ended up being inspired by a recipe for simply roasted sprouts.  What inspired the final product was a recipe comment.  Someone said, “Taste like candy!”  I didn’t really think so, so I decided to see what I could do to make them taste a little more like candy.

Simply roasted brussels sprouts are exactly that.  Just toss them in olive oil, salt and pepper and roast for 40 minutes at 400.  Some of the outside leaves will char and I love that flavor.  I also added 1/2 a red onion, sliced because I had it in the fridge and had no other plan for it.  When they were done, they were good, but not quite the”candy” I was hoping for.  I decided to add some honey and sprinkle with kosher salt.  I used raw honey from Faith Farm.  So, so good.  Now we’ve got a coating that’s a little like warm, salted caramel.  Yum.

Good? Yep.
Easy? Definitely. Just make sure you have enough time.
Good for company? I think so.
Special shopping? Nope.

Honey Roasted Brussels Sprouts

Ingredients

3 T olive oil
1 lb brussels sprouts, ends trimmed
1/2 red onion, sliced
1 t salt
1 t pepper
3 T honey
1 t kosher salt

Directions

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

In a large bowl toss the brussels sprouts and onions in the olive oil, salt and pepper.  Spread in a single layer in a shallow pan.  Roast in the oven 35 minutes, stirring occasionally.  Remove from oven and add honey to the pan.  Stir until sprouts are well covered.  Sprinkle with kosher salt.  Return to the oven for an additional 5 minutes or until the sprouts are fork tender.

Leave a Reply

