Grilled Pork Chops with Charmoula

Tonight’s entree is brought to you by Ault’s Family Farm and sheer exhaustion.  I just couldn’t bring myself to make a grocery run today.  I have a freezer full of local meat and various stocks and sauces.  That was going to have to do it for dinner.  So we’ve got a meat and two sides tonight.  And amazingly it’s warm enough today to grill outside.  Not bad for mid-December and it will cut down on the clean up too!

Not a lot to say about this.  I started by thawing a double cut pork chop.  When you’re getting your chopping for your other dishes done set the meat on the counter to come to room temperature, or close to it.  A little olive oil on both sides.  I spread some charmoula on it as well while I’m taking the chill off of it.  Grill at medium-high heat for 6-7 minutes on each side.  Let it rest 5-10 minutes before cutting.  Serve with extra charmoula.

Charmoula is one of my favorite sauces/garnishes/pastes, whatever exactly it is.  It’s awesome.  And it’s fun to say.  I learned about it some months ago when I was searching for something new to do with lamb chops.  Since then I’ve used it on chicken and pork as well.  It’s an herb paste like a chimichurri (also fun to say) or a pesto.  You make it with red onions, parsley, cilantro, garlic, lemon zest and juice and olive oil.  So, so good.  It freezes so make more than you need and pull it out later.  That’s what I did and it saved me from plain, boring pork chops tonight.

I added some modified Ginger Carrots (left out the chile powder and added some lemon juice) and some Brussels Sprouts with Garlic and Pecorino.  Dinner done!  Dinner yum!

Good? So good I completely forgot that I made them in April!
Easy? Grilling – easy cooking, easy cleanup.
Good for company? Sure.
Special shopping? You know I always advocate for local meats.

And ya’ gotta love the Ho, Ho, Ho plate!

Leave a Reply

