Brussels Sprouts with Garlic and Pecorino

This portion of tonight’s dinner is brought to you by Costco.  When I did my bulk shopping for the party I couldn’t resist picking up a few other items – among them, a big bag of organic Brussels Sprouts and more peeled cloves of garlic than I can use in a year.  I love Brussels Sprouts and this is a good time of year for them so I’m always looking for new ways to make them.

This is an easy recipe that actually has a lot of flavor.  I substituted red onions for white or yellow because it’s all I had in the house.  I left out the thyme because I forgot about it.  No biggie.  And I added a squeeze of fresh lemon juice at the end to tie these in with the charmoula on the pork chops.  Other than that I followed the recipe.  A couple of suggestions here.  Once you’ve peeled your garlic cloves stick them in the freezer.  Garlic freezes just fine and frozen garlic is much easier to slice than fresh.  A side bonus is that juice doesn’t run out of frozen garlic so your fingers don’t smell like garlic when you done.  Also,  The recipe call for you to add the garlic and onions at the same time.  I find that when I do that it’s much more likely that the garlic will be burned and bitter before the onions are done.  I sauteed the onions about 3 minutes before adding the garlic for another two minutes.  The both the onions and the garlic cook in the stock with the Brussels sprouts and become smooth and buttery.

The shaved pecorino is a very nice touch.  It adds just the right kind of salt to this dish.  I like how the shavings look, but honestly it’s a little hard to distribute them evenly.  Next time I might be more inclined to add some grated cheese and mix it in and then add a shaving or two for garnish. 

This is a darn good way to eat Brussels sprouts.  Give it a go!

Good? Yep.
Easy? Yep.
Good for company? Check first. Lots of folks aren’t so crazy about Brussels sprouts no matter how good they are.
Special shopping? Nope, you can get fresh sprouts in most any grocery store this time of year.

Brussels Sprouts with Garlic and Pecorino

Ingredients

1 teaspoon olive oil
6 garlic cloves, sliced
1 cup prechopped onion
1/3 cup chicken broth
1 pound Brussels sprouts, trimmed and halved
1/4 teaspoon black pepper
1/8 teaspoon salt
2 tablespoons shaved pecorino Romano cheese

Preparation

1. Heat olive oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat. Add onion to pan; sauté 3 minutes.  Add garlic; saute another 2 minutes.  Add broth and Brussels sprouts; bring to a boil. Cover and simmer 6 minutes or until crisp-tender. Add black pepper and salt. Sprinkle with pecorino Romano cheese.

Leave a Reply

