Chewy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

Oatmeal raisin?  What?!  I know, those of you who know me are beyond surprised given my aversion to cooked fruit, especially cooked raisins.  It will not surprise you to hear that these are not for me.  A co-worker of mine requested oatmeal raisin cookies for his birthday so oatmeal raisin cookies he shall have.

I found this recipe on foodnetwork.com and I followed it to the letter.  I don’t know from oatmeal raisin cookies so experimenting was not in my best interest.  And my kind co-worker is a food traditionalist so best not to mess with things too much.  This is the first oatmeal raisin recipe I’ve ever seen that calls for the dough to be made ahead and chilled.  I think usually these are basic drop cookies.  That worked well for me today.  I made the dough early this morning and then started the rolling and baking after the dinner dishes were cleaned up.  I was a little concerned that the recipe said it only made a dozen cookies.  That didn’t seem like very many, especially if he’s inclined to share, so I doubled it.   Their cookies must be awfully large because I got 3 1/2 dozen regular sized cookies and one big one for the birthday boy out of the double recipe.  I think you could get 2 dozen out of the standard recipe.

These are chewy as advertised.  Even when they’ve cooled.  The raisins really puff up when they cook.  I guess that’s good.  They don’t spread out a lot so that’s helpful.  They have a nice flavor.  Lots of molasses and cinnamon.  And they have a nice shiny finish.  I’m going to call these a success pending a review by the recipient.

If you’re a fan of the oatmeal raisin cookie I think these are worth a try!

Good? I think so.
Easy? Not as easy as others, but still not bad.
Good for company? Cookies are for sharing!
Special shopping? Of course I had to go get the raisins, but most people keep those on hand.

Chewy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

Ingredients

1 1/4 cups rolled oats
3/4 cup all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 stick unsalted butter, softened
3/4 cup sugar
2 tablespoons molasses
1 large egg
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 cup raisins

Directions

Combine the oats, flour, cinnamon, baking powder and salt in a large bowl. Beat the butter, sugar and molasses in a large bowl with a mixer on medium-high speed until fluffy, about 5 minutes. Beat in the egg and vanilla until smooth, about 2 more minutes. Reduce the mixer speed to low, add the flour mixture and beat until combined. Stir in the raisins by hand. For the best flavor and texture, cover the dough and chill at least 4 hours, or overnight.

Position racks in the upper and lower thirds of the oven; preheat to 350 degrees F. Line 2 baking sheets with parchment paper. Form the dough into 12 balls, about 2 tablespoonfuls each, and arrange 3 inches apart on the prepared baking sheets. Flatten with the back of a fork. Bake until the cookies are golden, 15 to 17 minutes. Let cool 5 minutes on the baking sheets, then transfer to racks to cool completely.

Leave a Reply

