Zucchini Muffins

This is the second night in a row I’ve cooked with grated zucchini.  This is my second attempt at zucchini muffins.  A lot of seconds tonight.  And I helped myself to seconds on the tiny muffins too.  You can check out the first recipe I tried here.  I had a huge zucchini from my garden.  I only used half last night and I couldn’t stand to let the rest languish.  I also need to take a little gift to a friend tomorrow evening and something you can freeze and enjoy later is always nice.  This recipe made enough that I can take some to work in the morning too for my morning meeting.  It’s a good way to make friends in a new office.

This is a Paula Deen recipe and it’s very good.  Honestly I think I prefer the other recipe, but this is still worth making.  These muffins get a little sugary crust on the top. That’s wonderfully yummy, but if you’ve filled the cups too full and they run over it makes them really hard to get out.  A note about filling the muffin cups.  These are not cupcakes.  They will not rise up and make beautiful mounds over the baking tin.  They will run over and spread out and look ugly.  That’s what happened to my first pans of mini muffins.  I did better on the full sized muffins and on the second pans of minis.

 The mini muffins take 15-20 minutes to bake and the regular ones more like 30.  Do let them sit, in the pans, on a cooling rack for about 10 minutes before you try to take them out.  It will give them time to pull away from the sides a little.  Otherwise these may be difficult to get out of the pan.  Of course if you tear one you can’t give it to anyone so you just have to eat it.  Not a bad deal.

Good? Yep.  But the second best recipe of these I’ve ever used.
Easy? The scooping is the hardest part.
Good for company? Yep. You can do them weeks ago and freeze them.
Special shopping? Nope.

Zucchini Muffins

Ingredients

3 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
1 1/2 teaspoons salt
1 teaspoon ground nutmeg
2 teaspoons baking soda
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
3 cups sugar
1 cup vegetable oil
4 eggs, beaten
1/3 cup water
2 cups grated zucchini
1 teaspoon lemon juice

Directions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. In a large bowl, combine flour, salt, nutmeg, baking soda, cinnamon and sugar. In a separate bowl, combine oil, eggs, water, zucchini and lemon juice. Mix wet ingredients into dry, add nuts and fold in. Bake in 2 standard loaf pans, sprayed with nonstick spray, for 1 hour, or until a tester comes out clean. Alternately, bake in 5 mini loaf pans for about 45 minutes.

Leave a Reply

