Lamb, Lemon and Bulghur Stuffed Peppers

There are a lot of stuffed peppers around here these days.  Mostly that’s because there are a lot of peppers around here and stuffed peppers freeze really well.  Partly, though, it’s because if the search statistics are accurate there is a lot of stuffed pepper interest out there.  Somehow I ended up with three pounds of ground lamb in the freezer and this is as good a use as any.  In fact, this is a really good use!  Many thanks to Pair-a-Dice Farm for the yummy lamb.

The flavors in this are not all that different from the other lamb stuffed peppers that I make.  My one complaint about those other peppers is that the stuffing is really loose and tends to fall out of the peppers when you move them around or cut them.  This stuffing overcomes that issue.  Bulghur is a really tiny grain so it holds together better than orzo.  I also added the tomatoes directly to the stuffing giving it enough moisture to stick together.  The feta doesn’t hurt either.  But it’s still not as dense as the standard meatloaf stuffed peppers.  Those are a little much in my opinion.   From the flavor angle I think the lemon juice and lemon zest are my favorite addition.  Next time I’d probably add some chopped parsley too.  Sort of a tabbouli meets stuffed peppers kind of thing.

This recipe ended up making a lot more stuffing than I anticipated.  I stuffed just about every pepper in the house.  I’ll be interested to see which peppers I like best:  the sweet banana peppers; the giant purple bell; the poblanos; the sweet carmines.  Each of the peppers has a different flavor and texture.  I had a sweet carmine for dinner.  The rest have been vacuum sealed and put in the freezer for another day.  I’m looking forward to that day already.

Good? So, so good.   Really.  Good.
Easy? Yep.
Good for company? It makes a bunch so, yes!
Special shopping? I can only find bulghur in a couple of stores here. And I keep ground lamb in the huse all the time, but you may have to hunt for it.

Lamb, Lemon and Bulghur Stuffed Peppers

Ingredients

1 lb ground lamb
1 onion, diced
2 C whole peeled tomatoes
1/2 C bulghur
1 C boiling water
zest and juice of 1 lemon
2 oz crumbled feta
asssorted peppers, halved and seeded

Directions

Put the bulghur in a medium bowl. Stir in the boiling water. Cover. Let sit for 40-45 minutes.
Saute the lamb and onions until the lamb is no longer pink and the onions are soft.
Add the tomatoes.
Add the lemon zest and juice.
Stir in enough of the bulghur to help the mixture stick together.
Stir in the feta.
Stuff the pepper halves.
Bake at 350 for 20 minutes.

Leave a Reply

