Roasted Eggplant with Chunky Tomato Sauce

So I kind of left you hanging on the Rustic Tomato Sauce front from the other day.  We went through a way to make it, but then I didn’t do anything with it.  Well, last night I had to eat the leftover shrimp from Sunday so this is the next cooking opportunity.  This actually had to be dinner tonight because I picked the eggplant on Sunday and didn’t want it to lose too much of its “I grew it myself ” perfection.  I actually put this together while I was in the kitchen yesterday to save myself a little time today.

This is a perfectly good, very easy, healthy, vegetarian dinner.  It’s not going to knock your socks off, but it’s absolutely worth a spot on a Tuesday night menu.  As always when you’re working with eggplant the first thing is to slice it; lay the slices on some towels; salt them; cover them; and let them sit for a few minutes.  It helps take the bitterness out. For this dish just roast the eggplant with a little salt and pepper at 350 for about 20 minutes.  Cover each slice with some tomato sauce and a slice of fresh mozzarella.  Grate a little parmesan over the top.  Bake for another 20-25 minutes.  Done!

Just one note on the mozzarella.  This week at Kroger I found a product called Mozzarella medallions.  The fresh mozzarella comes already sliced.  That’s awfully nice for a dish like this or if you make caprese salads with sliced tomatoes.

If you want to bulk up this meal a little serve the eggplant over pasta and/or use a meat sauce.  Another option is to serve a roasted eggplant slice as a side dish with chicken.  I offer these thoughts because I had two of the eggplant slices for dinner and I’m still pretty hungry.

Good? Yep.  Decent.
Easy? Couldn’t be easier.
Good for company? As a side dish, certainly.
Special shopping? Nope.

Leave a Reply

