Zucchini Angel Hair Pancake

August is a good month for Cooking Light magazine.  The creamy corn soup from earlier in the week came from there and so did this.  My motivation for cooking tonight was really low, but I had some produce that needed immediate attention.  I made some gazpacho to take care of the tomatoes which left me with a golden zucchini, bought specifically for this recipe.  I decided to forge ahead.

Gotta tell you, this is good, butI don’t think it came out exactly like it was supposed to.  There’s baking powder in the recipe which led me to believe that it was supposed to puff up a little.  Not so much.  And it didn’t really stick together like it was supposed to so that made it impossible to flip neatly.  It was a mess, in fact.  The first difficulty was my fault.  I used the cast iron skillet that I use for everything instead of a non-stick pan.  This really requires a non-stick pan.  Once I figured that out I moved it into a non-stick pan.  I had a little more success, but still not great.  I got about 3/4 of it to flip over before the last part fell to pieces.  I just mashed it back tight to the bottom of the pan and let it keep cooking.  I topped it with a little cheese and when the cheese was melted I slid it on to the cutting board.

I didn’t have the called for marinara sauce to serve it with so I poured a cup of the gazpacho and let it go at that.  It was good.  I think it would be lovely to serve at a brunch. I think you could make it a day ahead.  I might also try adding some pesto to it instead of the side of marinara.  It’s worth making again I think, if only to get another try at keeping the pancake whole during the flip.  Give it a shot and let me know how it goes for you!

Good? Yes.
Easy? I’ll give it an intermediate because of the flipping.
Good for company? Sure, why not.
Special shopping? Nope.

Zucchini Angel Hair Pancake

Ingredients

3 cups shredded zucchini
1 teaspoon salt, divided
1 (8-ounce) package angel hair pasta, broken into 3-inch pieces
1 1/2 ounces all-purpose flour (about 1/3 cup)
1/3 cup reduced-fat sour cream
1/4 cup (1 ounce) grated fresh Parmesan cheese
1/2 onion, chopped fine
1 tablespoon basil
1 teaspoon oregano
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon black pepper
2 large eggs, lightly beaten
1 garlic clove, minced
1 tablespoon butter

Preparation

1. Place zucchini in a colander, and sprinkle with 1/2 teaspoon salt. Toss well. Drain for 20 minutes, tossing occasionally. Press zucchini between paper towels until barely moist.
2. Cook pasta according to package directions, omitting salt and fat.
3. Bring marinara to a simmer in a small saucepan; keep warm.
4. Weigh or lightly spoon flour into a dry measuring cup, and level with a knife. Combine remaining 1/2 teaspoon salt, flour, and the next 9 ingredients in a large bowl. Add zucchini and pasta to bowl; toss well.
5. Melt butter in a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add zucchini mixture to pan, pressing down. Cook for 5 minutes or until bottom is lightly browned. Carefully turn pancake over; cook 5 minutes or until bottom is lightly browned. Cut into 8 wedges.

Leave a Reply

