Sockeye Salmon with Salsa

My quest to learn to like salmon continues.  The wild sockeye salmon are running right now so it’s pretty easy to find this fish. I think the sockeye is less oily and less fishy than the Atlantic salmon normally available here in the mid-Atlantic.  And I figured with enough salsa maybe I wouldn’t notice the salmon so much.  It seemed worth a try at least. 

I’m going to call this moderately successful.  The salsa was really good.  The fish was okay.  Okay enough that I ate it, but it’s unclear what fate may befall the leftovers.  I think the salsa would have been improved with a little peach or mango.  Some sweet to balance the acid.  Of course I was supposed to put honey on the fish, but it just seemed wrong so I didn’t.  I also left out the jalapeno in the salsa because I was too tired to go outside and get one.  Sad, but true.  The corn is yellow, not my favorite, but all I could find at the last minute.  And I didn’t put the corn in the skillet because I really like corn shaved right off the cob.  Then I substituted red wine vinegar for white wine vinegar because I think it’s more subtle. 

In the end the original recipe was more an inspiration.  I’d say any fish with any fresh salsa is a good dinner.  I like this salsa, but not as muhc as some others that I make.  And maybe I should just accept the fact that salmon is not my thing.  But if it’s yours then this is worth a try.

Good? Kind of.
Easy? Yep.
Good for company? Maybe.
Special shopping? Fresh sockeye salmon is pretty readily available mid-Summer.

Salmon with Corn and Tomato Salsa

Ingredients

1 cup diced plum tomatoes
1/4 cup minced red onion
2 tablespoons chopped fresh cilantro
2 tablespoons red wine vinegar
2 tablespoons fresh lime juice
1/8 teaspoon salt
1 cup fresh corn, cut from the cob

Cooking spray
4 (6-ounce) salmon fillets
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon pepper
2 tablespoons honey

Lime wedges (optional)
Cilantro sprigs (optional)

Preparation

Combine first 7 ingredients in a bowl; set aside.
Place a large nonstick skillet coated with cooking spray over medium-high heat until hot.
Sprinkle salmon with 1/4 teaspoon salt and pepper; drizzle with honey. Place skillet over medium-high heat until hot. Add salmon; cook 5 minutes on each side or until fish flakes easily when tested with a fork. Serve salmon with salsa; garnish with lime wedges and cilantro sprigs, if desired.

Leave a Reply

