Chicken Parmesan

This is a favorite of my dad’s (and my brother in law’s) so it was an easy choice for Father’s Day dinner.  Which is not to say that it’s an easy dish to make.  It’s a mess to make.  And if you make your sauce from scratch that takes a long time.  The sauce is my favorite part so I think making the sauce from scratch is non-negotiable.

This was a big hit with the family and it was really good.  Next time I’d do some things the same and a few things differently.  A traditional chicken parm is made by beating a chicken breast with a mallet until it is very thin; breading it; frying it; and baking it with marinara and mozzarella.  I prefer a little more chicken in my chicken parm so rather than pound the breasts flat I cut them crosswise to make a standard breast piece half as thick, but still substantial.  This time I did use a traditional three-step breading.  I coated each piece in flour, then egg, then panko.  Honestly this was a little much breading for me.  Next time I’d probably just press the chicken with panko and let it go at that.  To save some mess and some calories I don’t fry the chicken.  I bake it.  That works fine.

I made this a day ahead and refrigerated the pan overnight.  I covered each piece of chicken with a little sauce before refrigerating.  If you make this ahead, and I recommend that you do, just remember to take the pan out of the fridge and set it on the stove while the oven heats.  Once the oven is hot the pan will be warm enough to put in.  Add a little more sauce and some mozzarella to the top before baking.  Everything it cooked already so you’re just heating it through and melting the cheese.

Next time I’d probably use a thinner sauce on the bottom of the pan, but the same sauce on top. I just love this sauce.  I might also run the pan under the broiler just so the cheese would get a little brown.

Overall this is a terrific dish, but probably only worth doing for an occasion.  It’s a lot of trouble.  You might consider skipping the breading part altogether.  It’s not really chicken parm then, but I bet it would taste good.

Good? Yep.
Easy? Not too.
Good for company? I’d say company required.
Special shopping? Nope.

Chicken Parmesan

Ingredients

4 chicken breasts, cut crosswise
2/3 C flour
2 eggs, beaten
1 C panko
5-6 C Chunky Tomato Sauce
Fresh mozzarella, sliced

Directions

Put flour,eggs and panko in three separate shallow dishes. Dredge chicken in each dish (flour then egg then panko) and place on baking sheet sprayed with cooking spray. Bake at 350 for 20 minutes.
If you’re preparing the dish a day ahead let the chicken cool, cover and refrigerate. Remove from refrigerator while the over preheats the next day.
Cover with Chunky Tomato Sauce. Place one slice of mozzarella on each piece of chicken and bake until the chese melts.

Leave a Reply

