Appetizer Shrimp Kabobs

It’s another absurdly hot day for June.  So, of course, my friends and neighbors feel compelled to cook food outside over an open flame.  I’m in charge of appetizers.  I wanted something a little substantive in case dinner is later than usual.  And something easy to take down the street.  And something easy to eat with a drink in one hand.  Kabobs!

I keep jumping the gun on the caprese salad.  It’s not tomato season in Central Virginia just yet so I continue to rely on grape or cherry tomatoes.  Sorry about that.  I just can’t seem to help myself.  I did use the basil from my garden.  Yum.  And I added shrimp to bulk it up a little.

The shrimp marinated for about 15 minutes in lemon juice, olive oil, garlic, salt and pepper.  Cook them about 2 minutes on each side.  Alternate ingredients on the skewers.  In this case shrimp, grape tomatoes, fresh mozzarella and fresh basil leaves.  Easy.  Portable.  Yummy.

Leave a Reply

