Flank Steak with Hot Peanut Sauce

Last night was night one of re-using the lovely Greenway Sweet and Spicy London Broil without just having leftovers.  We’ll call the success mediocre.  I was a little disappointed because the idea of a warm peanut sauce really intrigued me.  And while I was on the site I went on to use a recipe for Asian Glazed Swiss Chard.  Ok, so the recipe called for bok choy, but I got swiss chard at the farmers’ market so there you go.

If I had to choose one word to describe this meal it would be SALTY.  Seriously.  Way overkill on the salt content even though I used low sodium soy sauce.  I was hoping that the peanut sauce would be sweeter.  If I was going to make this again, and I won’t, I’d decrease the soy sauce and increase the brown sugar.  Thank goodness for the plain rice to provide a little balance.  The glaze for the chard was just as salty, and much harder to push aside.

Of course I didn’t follow the recipe for marinating and cooking the beef because my beef was already done. I made the amount of marinade I needed for the sauce (about 1/2 of the recipe that follows) and followed the recipe from there. Following from the beginning would not have changed the flavor of the sauce so I’m glad I didn’t ruin the whole piece of beef.

So, in the end my kitchen was a disaster and dinner wasn’t great.  Maybe I should have stuck with the standard leftovers.

Good? Not so much.  Edible is as far as I’m willing to go.
Easy? Let’s say medium.
Good fo company? Absolutely not.
Special shopping? Nope.

Flank Steak with Hot Peanut Sauce

Ingredients

1/3 cup chopped green onions
1/3 cup low-sodium soy sauce
1 tablespoon brown sugar
1 tablespoon minced peeled fresh ginger
1 tablespoon fresh lime juice
2 teaspoons sesame oil
1 teaspoon crushed red pepper
2 garlic cloves, minced
1/2 cup water
1 tablespoon crunchy peanut butter
1 teaspoon cornstarch

Preparation

2. Combine remaining 1/4 cup marinade, 1/2 cup water, peanut butter, and cornstarch in a small saucepan. Bring to a simmer; cook 1 minute, stirring frequently. Remove from heat; keep warm.

Leave a Reply

