Grilled Squash and Sausage White Pizza

I know, it’s not squash season yet in Central Virginia.  I just couldn’t help myself.  I had some cooked italian sausage in the freezer that I’ve been meaning to make into pizza.  I thought it would be nice to try something new.  Good call.  The creamy ricotta is a nice base for the sweet squash and salty sausage.  And the grilling makes it all taste like summer.

So here’s the thing.  I was concerned that if I made my own crusty it wouldn’t be stiff enough to grill on the rack.  I also just didn’t feel up to making my own tonight.  It’s not the making the crust that’s the issue.  It’s the cleaning up the flour that inevitably gets all over me and the kitchen.  I bought a crust from the local grocery store pizza counter.  It’s leaps and bounds better than a Pillsbury refrigerated crust, but not as good as mine.  Still, it grilled really easily.  I grilled it some on both sides before I brought it inside to top and finish in the convection oven.

I love grilled squash.  It’s pretty and it tastes fantastic.  Turns out it’s pretty terrific on pizza too.  I decided on a white pizza because I think that sometimes a tomato sauce is so strong that the flavor of the squash gets lost.  The ricotta, garlic and parmesan mixture was a nice mild balance.  You already know how much I love the sausage.  I added a little fresh mozzarella and some dried basil and oregano.  Voila.  Perfect?  No.  Darn good?  Absolutely.  The thing that keeps this from pizza perfection is that the mild sweetness of the ricotta and squash is too far from the spicy saltiness of the sausage.  There’s nothing in the middle to help bridge the gap.  The addition of some roasted tomatoes or artichoke hearts would add the missing element.  Next time I’d probably also concentrate less on presentation and more on toppings.  Cutting the squash in smaller pieces would allow me to fit on more squash and make room for those extra veggies as well.  Just a thought.

All in all I’m going to call this a success.  Next time I’ll make my own crust.  I have the whole summer to practice getting it just right for grilling!

Good? Yep.
Easy? Relatively.
Good for company? Perfect for a patio party.
Special shopping? Nope.

Grilled Squash and Sausage White Pizza

Ingredients

1 pizza crust
olive oil
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 large summer squash, cut lengthwise into thin pieces
1 italian sausage link, cut into discs and cooked
1 C ricotta
1/3 C grated parmesan
1/2 t dried crushed basil
1/2 t dried crushed oregano

Directions

Heat the grill.
Coat the squash on both sides with a little olive oil. Grill 1-2 minutes on each side. Set aside.
Brush the top side of the crust with olive oil and place top side down on the grill rack. Cook until golden brown. Flip.
Grill another 3-4 minutes on low. Remove from grill.
Combine ricotta, parmesan and garlic in a bowl. Spread on the top of the grilled crust.
Arrange squash. sausage and mozzarella over the ricotta.
Sprinkle with additional parmesan. Cook in a convection oven at 450 degrees (or on the grill with the lid closed) until the cheese is bubbly.
Finish with basil and oregano.

Leave a Reply

