Latin Baked Chicken

It’s been a long day.  Having sunlight later in the evening is terrific for getting things done. (Tonight I got most of my pots planted).  The problem is that I lose track of time and then it’s late by the time I start dinner.  I was very, very close tonight to ordering a pizza.  I’m glad I managed to haul myself to the store to pick up the chipotles and limes I needed for tonight.  Needing some lime for my beer helped a little in the motivation department.

This recipe is simple.  Not fast, but simple.  Just five ingredients.  And it’s excellent.  I’m a big fan of cooking with chicken thighs and legs.  The pieces are relatively small and the meat is moist.  I was concerned that baking the chicken uncovered with no skin would mean that the outside would be dry.  Nope.  The basting every 10 minutes prevented any drying.  And this sauce is wonderful it salty, sweet, acidic and hot.  It’s not super thick, but somehow it manages to stick to the chicken.  What else can I say?  This is good stuff.   Nice job Cooking Light.  I think it might be really yummy prepared on the grill too.  I served it with rice cooked in chicken stock with a little parsley thrown in for sweetness.

Good? Absolutely.
Easy? Absolutely.
Good for company? Absolutely. Do a whole bunch for a party.
Special shopping? Absolutely not.

Latin Baked Chicken

Ingredients

1/4 cup fresh lime juice
3 tablespoons less-sodium soy sauce
2 tablespoons honey
2 tablespoons minced chipotle chile in adobo sauce
8 (4-ounce) bone-in chicken thighs, skinned

Preparation

Preheat oven to 400°. Combine lime juice, soy sauce, 2 tablespoons honey, and chipotle in a large bowl. Add chicken, and toss well to coat. Let stand for 10 minutes at room temperature. Arrange the chicken on a broiler pan coated with cooking spray, reserving marinade. Bake at 400° for 15 minutes. Place reserved marinade in a blender, and process until smooth. Place pureed marinade in a small saucepan. Bring to a boil, and cook 3 minutes. Brush chicken with half of cooked sauce; return to oven and bake an additional for 10 minutes. Brush chicken with remaining sauce; bake an additional 10 minutes or until a thermometer registers 165°.

Leave a Reply

