Curried Sweet Potato Soup

Many hours spent planting the garden today means little energy left for making dinner and zero motivation to go to the store.  The house is a little low on anything other than sandwich stuff and pasta.  Either would have been fine, but then a lonely sweet potato caught my eye.  It’s been overcast and cool all day so I really felt like soup.  So that’s how this dinner came to be.  My goal for this week is to have as few leftovers as possible.  Recently I’ve had little interest in eating leftovers except for lunch.  I have sandwich stuff to take for lunch so I don’t need dinner leftovers for that.  It’s difficult, and a little nonsensical, to make one serving of soup so I have a little more than a serving left.  I think I can get through that.

On to the food.  This soup is relatively quick and easy to make.  I followed the recipe except I only made about 1/3 of a recipe so I estimated all of the proportions.  That was easier than actually doing the math.  I used plain Greek yogurt because I pretty much only buy Greek yogurt these days.  I have a strong preference for it over regular yogurt.  I used store bought curry powder because I’m out of my own.  The flavor was much milder than I like, but still good.  Once the sweet potato is soft the recipe instructs you to use a blender to puree the soup in two batches.  I used my stick blender since there was such a small amount that it didn’t seem worth getting the blender out and dirty.  Not a good call.  Because there was so little there was a lot of splattering.  Yuck.  The regular blender would have been a better call.  If you’re making the full recipe you won’t have that problem.

I was expecting the soup to be relatively sweet.  It’s a sweet potato after all.  At first I didn’t think it was very sweet and I was a little disappointed.  I served it with an Italian sausage.  After I ate a little sausage, clearly on the salty side, the soup had the perfect sweetness for balance.  Just a touch of heat in the back of the throat from the curry powder was very nice and a lovely counterpoint to the tanginess of the yogurt.  I would definitely serve this as a first course for a dinner party.  You could  make it the day before and just reheat before guests arrive.  I might top it with just a little crispy prosciutto.  That would look nice and add the salt element to bring out the sweetness in the soup.  All in all this is a really good soup.  It’s elegant, but not difficult and it’s pretty.

Good? Good.
Easy? Easy.
Good for company? Good for company.
Special shopping? Nope.

Note:  I’ve left the original recipe in tact here rather than guess at the proportions I used in cutting the recipe down to size.

Curried Sweet Potato Soup

Ingredients

2 teaspoons olive oil
1 cup chopped onion
2 teaspoons curry powder
1/4 teaspoon ground allspice
1 cup water
3 (10 1/2-ounce) cans low-salt chicken broth
5 cups cubed, peeled sweet potato (about 3 1/2 pounds)
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 1/2 cups plain Greek yogurt, divided
Minced fresh chives (optional)

Preparation

Heat olive oil in a Dutch oven over medium-high heat. Add onion; sauté 2 minutes. Stir in curry and allspice; cook 1 minute. Add water, broth, sweet potato, and salt. Cook 25 minutes or until potato is tender. Place half of sweet potato mixture in a blender; process until smooth. Repeat procedure with remaining sweet potato mixture. Return puréed sweet potato mixture to pan. Bring bisque to a boil; remove from heat. Stir in 1 cup yogurt until blended. Top each serving with about 1 tablespoon yogurt; garnish with chives, if desired.

Leave a Reply

