Martini Roasted Tilapia

I have recently been reminded that I should eat more fish. While that was on my mind I mentioned to someone that I’d like to go to Italy next Summer for cooking school. By the time I got home that turned into looking for an Italian inspired fish dish for dinner. I found a recipe for Sicilian Swordfish. Hmmm, sounds promising. And then I saw that there are raisins in it. Cooked raisins – strike 1. Raisins on fish – strike 2. General grossness – strike 3. But the recipe did have olives in it. So I thought my way to fish with olives and tomatoes. Then, while I was in the store looking for green olives I found a jar of martini olives – olives marinated in vermouth. Sold!  To make this real martini fish I added some vodka to the sauce as well. 

This turned out pretty well.  It might have benefited from a touch of lemon juice, but still good.  One note about roasting.  When you roast chicken you arrange the vegetables around the edges, mostly because a chicken isn’t flat and they’d be hard to arrange on top of the chicken.  That’s what I did with the fish tonight too.  Mistake.  The fish was just a touch dry on top.  Next time I’ll arrange the tomato and olive mixture on top of the fish.  That will help maintain some moisture and help infuse the fish with the flavor of the relish.  Maybe next time I’ll add some martini onions as well.

Good? Yep, but just good. Not great.
Easy? Definitely.
Good for company? With a few tweaks maybe, but I’d probably choose something else.
Special shopping? Martini olives. Easy to find, just not something I keep in the house.

Martini Roasted Tilapia

Ingredients

3-4 tilapia filets
1/4 chopped parsley
2 cloves minced garlic
1 pint grape tomatoes, halved
12-15 martini olives, halved
3 T dry vermouth
3 T vodka
Salt and pepper

Directions

Preheat oven to 350. Line a roasting pan with foil and rub with olive oil.
Lay fish in the pan in a single layer.
Combine remaining ingredients in a bowl and mix.
Pour tomato mixture over the fish.
Roast 15 minutes or until the fish flakes easily with a fork.

Leave a Reply

