Smoked Salmon and Goat Cheese Frittata

Wednesday night was book club night.  My month to host so I wanted to make something a little substantial, but still a little light given how hot it is in the house.  I also needed something kind of quick since I’d be coming in from work and have a number of things to do.  Frittata!  If you’re not familiar with a frittata think quiche, but without the pastry crust.  Now, I looked at a lot of frittata recipes that take an hour to bake.  I’m sure they’re great, but not helpful to me.  Fortunately Cooking Light served up one that cooks in just a few minutes.

I had some goat cheese that I wanted to use up so that’s how I came to choose this one, but you can put anything in a frittata.  This is a great option for using eggs and odds and ends from the vegetable bin.  I threw in some red onion because I had 1/2 of one in the fridge.  If I’d had some asparagus or red pepper I would have thrown that in too.  The key here is that the potatoes form the base and the eggs hold everything together.  Everything else is for texture and flavor.

Because this is a Cooking Light recipe it uses mostly egg whites.  If you choose to use whole eggs you won’t need quite as many.  Maybe 6 whole eggs rather than 6 egg whites and 2 whole eggs.  Today I’ll be trying to figure out what to do with the 6 egg yolks in the fridge so that I don’t have to throw them out.

I had one real issue with this recipe.  It calls for browning the potatoes in a non-stick pan.  No problem there.  But then it calls for putting that pan, with all of the ingredients in it, in the oven.  I don’t put my non-stick skillets in the oven.  Maybe that’s fine I’ve just never done it.  I only put my cast iron in the oven.  So, I started browning the shredded potatoes in the cast iron.  Well, they stuck to the pan.  So I ended up browning the potatoes in a non-stick and then transferring them back to the cast iron.  I spread them into the bottom of the cast iron and then added the egg mixture to them.  It worked great, it was just a messier process than the original recipe indicates.

Other than that it was great.  It was pretty and it tasted good.  And I had some for breakfast the next day and it was good reheated too.  Can’t beat that.

Good? Yep.
Easy? Yep.
Good for company? Sure.
Special shopping? Nope. Use what you have.

Smoked Salmon and Goat Cheese Frittata

Ingredients

  • Cooking spray
  • 2 1/2 cups shredded peeled baking potato or refrigerated shredded hash brown potatoes
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon pepper
  • 6 large egg whites
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/2 cup (2 ounces) crumbled goat cheese
  • 3 ounces thinly sliced smoked salmon, cut into 1/4-inch-wide strips
  • 1 tablespoon chopped fresh dill

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 350°.
  • Heat a large nonstick skillet coated with cooking spray over medium-high heat. Add potato; sauté 5 minutes or until golden brown, and sprinkle with salt and pepper.
  • Combine the egg whites, eggs, goat cheese, and smoked salmon in a medium bowl, and stir well with a whisk. Spread the egg mixture evenly over the potato in skillet, and cook 2 minutes or until edges are set and bottom is lightly browned. Sprinkle the top with dill.
  • Bake at 350° for 5 minutes. Broil 3 minutes or until center is set. Carefully loosen frittata from skillet with a spatula; gently slide frittata onto a platter. Cut into wedges for serving.
One Response to “Smoked Salmon and Goat Cheese Frittata”

  1. Janet Says:

    Here is a link I found that may or may not answer the question about using a non-stick frying pan in the oven…

    http://au.answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20090530234856AABv9qE

Leave a Reply

