Pork Chops with Charmoula (really)

So this time I remembered the charmoula.  You may recall that I was supposed to serve it with lamb chops earlier in the week and completely forgot about it.  That’s really too bad because it’s FANTASTIC!  I’m considering serving it with everything.  In fact I ate a fair amount of it off the spoon tonight.  Interesting that the smallest portion on the plate is the star!

As always, thanks to Ault’s Family Farm for the pork chops.  They were lovely.  Tender and juicy.  I think I might be getting the hang of this cooking organic meat thing.  And the charmoula just made them better.  Served alongside some spinach sauteed with red onion and some roasted asparagus it was a terrific, and terrifically simple, meal.

Let me say just a little more about the charmoula.  This stuff is green and bright and salty and garlicky and wonderful. If you’ve got a bunch of leftover parsely and cilantro because you needed a few tablespoons, but had to buy a whole bunch this is your solution.  I think it would be terrific eaten on pita chips.  I’ll be trying that later.  The recipe makes a bunch.  I’ll also be serving it with chicken tomorrow.  As far as I can tell it keeps well in the refrigerator.  All I can say is,  “Make this.  Now.”

Good? Way beyond good.
Easy? Yep.
Good for company? An easy way to make chops and chicken much more interesting.
Special shopping? Nope.

Charmoula

Ingredients

2 small red onions, chopped
1 bunch parsley, stems removed
1 bunch cilantro, stems removed
2 garlic cloves, minced
1/2 cup olive oil
1 lemon, zested and juiced
Salt and freshly ground black pepper

Directions

In a food processor or blender, add the remaining spice mixture, the onions, parsley, cilantro, garlic, olive oil, lemon zest and juice. Blend until smooth and season with salt and pepper, to taste. Set aside.

Leave a Reply

