Vegetable Korma

I’ve been craving Indian food for a couple of days so I opted to make Vegetable Korma instead of the Vegetable Lo Mein on the original plan.  I should have stuck with the plan.  This was a decidedly mediocre dinner.  Not even mediocre really.  Just this side of  order-a-pizza-instead.  And pretty boring too.  The good news is that I think I’ve figured out how to fix it.  It remains to be seen whether or not I’ll bother.

There are two big problems with this dish.  First, the recipe calls for no salt at all.  And it needs some.  Badly.  That’s an easy fix.  Second, the cauliflower sucks out what little life there is in this dish.  My recommendation?  Double the potato and edamame, add some diced tomatoes, add some salt and ditch the cauliflower.  I think that has possibilities.  In the interest of full disclosure I feel like I need to tell you that I changed up the spices a little.  I had about 2 tablespoons of homemade curry powder so I used that instead of the mix listed in the original recipe.  It didn’t change the overall character of the recipe and it made life a little easier for me.

So, in the final analysis this is not bad if you don’t eat the cauliflower.  I can’t say it’s good either, but I did eat it.  If I end up picking out the cauliflower and adding tomatoes  I’ll report back.  In all honesty it’s more likely that this will end up in the trash never to be seen again.

Good? Not really.
Easy? Yep.
Good for company? Definitely not.
Special shopping? I keep coconut milk in the pantry, but you may not. Most grocery stores carry it.

Vegetable Korma

Ingredients

1 1/2 tablespoons butter
1 cup chopped onion
1 tablespoon minced peeled ginger
3 garlic cloves, minced
1 tablespoon tomato paste
2 tablespoons curry powder
1 cup frozen shelled edamame
1 (12-ounce) baking potato, peeled and diced
1 cup fat-free, lower-sodium chicken broth
1 teaspoon all-purpose flour
1 (13.5-ounce) can light coconut milk
3 cups cauliflower florets
2 cups hot cooked long-grain white rice

Preparation

1. Melt butter in a saucepan over medium-high heat. Add onion, and sauté for 2 minutes. Add 1 tablespoon ginger and garlic; sauté for 30 seconds, stirring constantly. Stir in tomato paste and next 4 ingredients (through cinnamon); sauté for 1 minute, stirring frequently. Stir in edamame and potato. Combine chicken broth, flour, and milk, stirring until smooth. Add broth mixture to pan, and bring to a boil. Reduce heat, and simmer for 8 minutes, stirring occasionally. Stir in 3 cups cauliflower, and simmer for 9 minutes or until the vegetables are tender. Serve over white rice.

Leave a Reply

