Blackberry-White Chocolate Fool

I’m not a big fruit person.  In fact, other than a good lemon bar from time to time I mostly steer clear of fruit desserts, especially if there’s any kind of a chocolate alternative.  That said, last Summer I went on a blackberry buying binge at the farmers’ market and ended up with 4 pints in my freezer.  Time to start using those.  Tonight is the monthly Sweatpants Potluck (4 girls, awesome food, sweatpants required) and I am in charge of dessert.  These ladies are very good sports about playing food guinea pig so I’m taking advantage of that.

This is a Bobby Flay recipe and there’s no grill involved.  Who knew?  As with most new recipes I generally followed the directions.  After discovering at the liquor store that Creme de Cassis doesn’t come in tiny bottles I decided that Creme de Cacao would make a better long-term addition to my liquor cabinet so that’s my substitution for today.  I did mash the berries with a fork and then press them through a sieve into the whipped creme.  Next time I’ll use my stick blender instead of a fork.  What went into the cream was much more juice than puree.   Oh, one more substitution.  I am not a fan of the hazelnut.  I just threw a few white chocolate chips on top instead.

My other helpful note is about the chocolate.  One, use white baker’s chocolate instead of white chocolate chips.  I know this is the way to go, but used chips anyway.  The thing about chips of any chocolate variety is that they have a little wax or some such in them so that they’ll hold that cute little shape.  If you don’t need chips it’s just better to do without the added wax.  Two, temper the chocolate before you add it to the whipped cream.  Again, I know this is the way to go, but the instructions didn’t mention it so I didn’t bother.  To temper just add a little cream, whipped or not, to the bowl of melted chocolate and stir it in.  This brings the temperature of the chocolate down enough that it should mix smoothly.  If you don’t do that the chocolate essentially reforms into a solid when you add it to the cream.  Now, it’s not a disaster.  The “solid” is in the form of tiny shards of chocolate so it’s still good, but the texture would be a lot nicer if it was smooth.  So there’s a little lesson on working with chocolate.

The verdict was all good.  Mostly after salad, roast chicken and mac & cheese we had little room left for dessert, but determined that eating half tonight and half for breakfast would be a very good thing.

Good? Very.
Easy? Very.
Good for company? Very. You can serve it in individual dishes. Or not.
Special shopping? You need fresh blackberries, or ones frozen fresh like I had.

Blackberry-White Chocolate Fool

Ingredients

4 cups fresh blackberries
1/4 cup sugar, plus 3 tablespoons
1/4 cup creme de cacao
1 1/2 cups very cold heavy cream
4 ounces white chocolate, melted
1/4 cup white chocolate chips

Directions

Place berries in a large bowl. Add 1/4 cup sugar and 2 tablespoons creme de cacao, stir well, and let sit at room temperature for 30 minutes. Remove half of the berries and mash with fork until pureed. Strain the mixture into a bowl.

Whip heavy cream, 3 tablespoons sugar, and 2 tablespoons creme de cacao in a large bowl until stiff peaks form. Fold in the white chocolate and strained puree and chill for 1 hour.

Layer goblets with berry-cream mixture and whole macerated berries. Sprinkle with chocoalte chips.

One Response to “Blackberry-White Chocolate Fool”

  1. Kristin Says:

    Ah, if I knew how to legally mail you some creme de cassis, I could get you some! I made a bunch last summer when I couldn’t figure out what else to do with all the black currants I had from last summer’s harvest (and all the frozen ones from the summer before). I hear it’s delicious, though by the time it finished the months-long steeping process, I wasn’t drinking anymore…

Leave a Reply

