Next Week’s plan

It worked out well for me last week to make a plan for the whole week.  It’s a good habit to get into so I think I’ll try it again this week.  Meal planning is hard.  And it gets harder when you try to plan around local seasonal ingredients.  Add to that trying to watch your fat, salt, calorie, carbohydrate and whatever else you’re tracking intake.  But in the end, at least for me, it keeps me from being in the grocery store several days a week which ultimately saves me time and money.  So a little extra effort now pays off.  It helps that I find it truly enjoyable to look at recipe sites and cookbooks.

This week is a little more complicated than last because I’ll be home for lunch a fair amount.  I need to decide if I’ll be eating dinner leftovers for lunch, thus cooking dinner more often, or if I’m going to get lunch stuff.  We’ll have to see. Tonight I’ll be out watching the Richmond game (GO SPIDERS!) and tomorrow night is the Sweatpants Potluck for the month.  I’m in charge of dessert for that so stay tuned tomorrow for a Blackberry and Goat Cheese Tart of some kind.  For now, here’s the three dinner plan for the week:  one meat, one fish, one vegetarian.

Braised Lamb Shanks with Orange and Olives

Fava Bean and Grilled Shrimp Salad

Vegetable Lo Mein with Edamame and Greens

Feel free to make one or more of these this week and let me know how they go over at your house!

Leave a Reply

