I’m back!

I’m sure it appears as if I’ve given up the whole cooking thing, or at least the whole blogging thing, but not so.  The combination of job transition and hideous chest cold has conspired to keep me out of the kitchen for the last week or so.  Meals this week were leftovers, book club noshes and Chinese takeout.  Nothing worth writing about.  I’m feeling better, though I still sound like a 2 pack a day smoker, so I’m determined to manage the job transition stress and still spend some time in the kitchen this week.

For the last couple of weeks I’ve been so focused on eating through the stores of meat in the freezer that I’ve kind of gotten away from cooking anything else.  The strategy this week is to do one meat dish, one fish dish and one vegetarian dish.  That’s probably not a bad strategy for every week so we’ll see how it goes.  Here’s the lineup for the week:

Tilapia with Red Coconut Curry Sauce – served with rice and bok choy

Honey and Spice Glazed Pork Chops – served with roasted brussel sprouts

Sweet potatoes with West African Peanut Sauce – served with steamed broccoli

I think those three dishes should get me to next Saturday.  And next Saturday is the monthly Sweatpants Pot Luck with the girls so I’ll be thinking about a dessert to take to that.  Maybe something involving the scads of last Summer’s blackberries that are hanging out in the freezer downstairs.

Leave a Reply

