Crock Pot Pork

Four ingredients: $8.  One crock pot: $40.  Dinner done when you walk in the door: priceless.

I had a lot going on in the kitchen today, on top of a very busy work day.  Little time to deal with dinner.  And I’m still working my way through pounds of Boston Butt in the basement freezer.  You may recall that in December I made Southwest Pulled Pork.  This is similar.  Pork cooked with salsa verde from last year’s garden.  This time I added sweet onions and fresh jalapeños and left out the chicken stock.  All in the crock pot to do its thing.

No need for the chicken stock today.  The pork was frozen solid when I put it in so I figured there would be some water out of that.  Of course there’s some liquid in the salsa too.  I didn’t want much liquid because I wanted the onions to caramelize a little as they cooked.  Mission accomplished.  There’s little enough liquid in here that you could serve it on sandwiches or in lettuce wraps.  Serve some on Mom’s Rolls!

This is mild enough that your kids will eat it.  If you like more heat add some jalapeños and leave the seeds in.  I added some green Tabasco and served it with black beans. Do up some plantains if you feel like it.

Good? Yep.
Easy? Beyond easy.
Good for company? Not fancy, but fine if you have company for a weeknight dinner.
Special shopping? You may not keep salsa verde all the time, but you should!

Crock Pot Pork

Ingredients

1 1/2 lbs Boston Butt pork roast
1 sweet onion, halved and sliced
2 jalapeños, seeded and diced
1 C salsa verde

Directions

Put everything in the crock pot, onions on the bottom. Cook on low 8 hours. Shred pork and serve.

I cooked a can of black beans with some regular red salsa to go alongside.

Leave a Reply

