Ginger Glazed Carrots

Mostly I don’t care for cooked carrots or Alton Brown.  Usually the carrots are so cooked that they’re mushy.  Yuck.  And I find Alton a little annoying.  Two strikes from the beginning, but these are actually good.  A friend of mine who doesn’t like carrots at all, raw or cooked, had two servings!

Mine didn’t actually turn out glazed, but I think I prefer them that way.  I didn’t want a syrupy glaze, just a good flavor.  The key here is the ginger ale.  Yep, ginger ale.  I use Northern Neck.  It’s one of the best ginger ale’s out there.  Dr. Brown’s would be good too.  What you’re looking for is a ginger ale with a little bite to it.  Not too sweet.

I peeled and cut a bunch of carrots, but I imagine that baby carrots straight out of the bag would work just as well and be a lot less trouble.  I used salted butter because I already had it out.  I think I went too light on the chili powder because I didn’t really notice it.  So maybe you don’t really need it.  Hard to say.  Keep it in just in case.  I let these simmer in the sauce about 15 minutes so they were still firm, but no glaze ever formed.  The flavor was in there though!

Good? Yep, who knew cooked carrots could be good?
Easy? Very.
Good for company? Yep.
Special shopping? Nope.

Glazed Carrots

Ingredients

1 pound carrots, approximately 7 medium, peeled and cut on the bias 1/4-inch thick
1 ounce (2 tablespoons) unsalted butter
Heavy pinch kosher salt
1 cup good-quality ginger ale
1/2 teaspoon chili powder

Directions

In a 12-inch saute pan over medium heat, combine the carrots, butter, salt and ginger ale. Cover and bring to a simmer. Once simmering, remove the lid, stir, and reduce the heat to low. Cover again and cook for 5 minutes. Remove the lid, add the chili powder and increase the heat to high. Cook, tossing occasionally, until the ginger ale is reduced to a glaze, approximately 4 to 5 minutes. Pour into a serving dish and serve immediately.

Leave a Reply

