Crock Pot Coq au Vin

Okay folks, it’s been a rough day.  Up at 5:30 to hit the gym before heading to DC for work.  Crummy weather resulting in a very difficult 4 1/2 hour trip home. The good news was supposed to be that I managed to get dinner in the crock pot before I left this morning.  Very disappointing.  Feel free to stop reading now.

For those of you who have chosen to continue reading this post, here’s the deal.  Coq au Vin is supposed to have rich, deep flavors and this doesn’t taste like much of anything.  It’s a recipe from Make it Fast, Cook it Slow and I followed it exactly so I can’t reproduce it here.  No loss.  I think the lesson here is that for some things there is no shortcut.

Basically you put chicken, onions, garlic, bacon, carrots, thyme, broth, wine, salt and pepper in a crock pot and let it cook on low 8 hours. I did exactly that.  Granted, because  I had such a long trip home it sat on warm longer than I intended.  That probably contributed to the dry texture of the chicken.  But still, it didn’t taste like anything.  Not even worth a photo.  No idea what I’m going to do with the leftovers.  Maybe chicken salad? Can I give the chicken to the dog? It’s worth considering.

Good? Nope.
Easy? Yep.
Good for company? Not if you want them to come back.
Special shopping? Nope.

Leave a comment