Crock Pot Roast Chicken

I don’t use my crock pot enough.  It’s not that I think everything should be cooked in crock pot, far from it, but it’s awfully nice to come home and have dinner already done.  I bought the Make it Fast, Cook it Slow cookbook, but I haven’t done much with it.  Today my folks are coming over for dinner after church and I had to figure out how to get to the gym, get to church and still not have to wait all afternoon to eat lunch.  The crock pot is the answer.

My slow cooker cookbook has a recipe for “Rotisserie Chicken.”  All you have to do is skin a whole chicken and rub on some spices.  Honestly any spice mix you like will do just fine.  I used a traditional salt, pepper, thyme and rosemary mix, but a jerk mix or barbeque mix would work just as well.  If you like you can quarter an onion or halve a lemon or peel some garlic cloves and put them inside the chicken for baking.  Put the spice rubbed chicken breast side down in a dry crock pot and cook it on low for 8 hours or so.  Done.  The spice rub does brown up so the chicken ends up with kind of a rotisserie chicken look, just no skin, and a lot less salt than store bought.

I did my chicken overnight so that I’d have the crock pot available today for the roasted root vegetables.  Turns out that was a little too long.  When I tried to lift the chicken out of the pot it fell apart.  Still, the flavor is good so I think this has potential.  There were a lot of drippings left in the pot so I set those aside to make gravy.  Given how done this is I think we’ll be glad of the gravy.  Fortunately my folks are pretty forgiving of imperfect food.

Good? Yep.
Easy? Couldn’t be easier.
Good for company? Sure, it’s a whole chicken.
Special shopping? Nope.

One Response to “Crock Pot Roast Chicken”

  1. 1womanskitchen Says:

    The chicken is good, not so, so dry, but still, everything is better with gravy. I put the chicken and the roasted vegetables on the plate and put a little pan gravy over the whole thing. Yum.

Leave a Reply

