Pork Chops in Pepper Jelly and Tequila Marinade

I was way too tired to finish this last night, but I served these along with the black bean soup.

Still working my way through the freezer stores. Needing something to go with my black bean soup. Having company for dinner. All of these things brought me to this recipe. The recipe actually calls for mango salsa which I don’t have. No mangoes. I’m sure that would be very good.  I was interested in this because I don’t have a lot of opportunities to use my pepper jelly.  I recommend this!

These chops are broiled so the sugars in the pepper jelly marinade really coat the outside.  I wish that the marinade penetrated further into the meat.  As it is it pretty much just coats the outside.  That’s where the mango salsa would really add.

Of course I have to give credit to Ault Family Farm for the pork chops.  The meat was tender and flavorful.  I think broiling is a good method for these.  It falls nicely inline with cooking farm raised meats at a lower temperature and for less time.  These chops were about 1 1/2 inches thick so they were in the broiler about 12 minutes on each side and then rested another 10 minutes before serving.

Good? Yes, but just good – not amazing.
Easy? Very.
Good for company? Good, but not impressive
Special shopping? Nope, though pepper jelly may be a Southern thing.

Pork Chops in Pepper Jelly and Tequila Marinade

Ingredients

  • 2  tablespoons  tequila
  • 2  tablespoons  jalapeño pepper jelly, melted
  • 2  tablespoons  fresh lime juice
  • 1/4  teaspoon  salt
  • 1/8  teaspoon  pepper
  • 4  (4-ounce) lean, boned center-cut loin pork chops (about 1/2 inch thick)
  • Cooking spray
  • Preparation

    Combine first 6 ingredients in a large zip-top plastic bag. Seal bag; marinate in refrigerator 8 hours, turning bag occasionally. Remove pork from bag, reserving marinade.

    Prepare grill or broiler. Place pork on grill rack or broiler pan coated with cooking spray; cook 7 minutes on each side or until pork is done, basting occasionally with reserved marinade.

    Leave a Reply

