Southwest Pulled Pork

This is so easy it’s embarrassing, but so good I had to share.  I’m still working my way through a whole Boston Butt pork roast that I bought some time ago and froze in 1-2 pound pieces.  I’ve been looking for ways other than making bbq to cook it.  It’s tough so it has to be braised for a while to be tender enough to enjoy.  It’s perfect for the crockpot.  The last time I thawed a piece it turned into apricot roast pork tacos.   Tonight’s version is a little smokier and more tangy.  Exactly what I was hoping for.

Here’s what you do.  Put a one pound piece of Boston Butt in a crock pot or dutch oven.  Add 1/2 jar of salsa verde and 1 C chicken stock.  Cook over low heat 1-2 hours.  Keep an eye on it to be sure there’s always some liquid in the bottom of the pot.  Add a little water at a time as needed.  If you’re using a crock pot it will take longer, but the liquid should last just fine.  When the pork is done remove it from the pot and shred it with a fork.  Reduce the remaining liquid by half or more to use it as a sauce.

I used some salsa verde that I made last summer from the green tomatoes in my garden.  In my opinion it’s the best salsa verde around.  Check Ball’s Complete Book of Home Preserving for the recipe.  If you’re not interested in making your own I recommend Herdez brand.

I served the pork  over black beans with a little of the reduced cooking liquid as a sauce.  YUM!

Good? Indeed.
Easy? Criminally so.
Good for company? Definitely.
Special shopping? Nope. Only 3 ingredients.

Leave a Reply

