Crostini with Brie and Preserves

It’s been quite a week here.  A 2 day trip to Philadelphia and a full schedule of appointments today.  Tonight is book club so I need to come up with something.  Something less ambitious than the Double Cherry Pies of last month.  This is less a recipe than it is an endorsement of a product I’ve just discovered.

I love Brie.  I mean, what’s not to love about creamy, yummy cheese?  I know, however, that many people have difficulty with the rind that comes on Brie.  It can be a little tough and bitter.  Some people overcome this issue by eating the cheese out of the middle and throwing the rind away.  That’s fine in the sanctity of your own home, but pretty tacky if you’re at a gathering.  Well, do I have good news for you!  I recently discovered a new kind of Brie!

The new Brie has a very thin rind so it doesn’t have any of the chalkiness of the traditional Brie rind from wedges and rounds.  And, even better, it’s shaped into a log instead of a round!  The log is about 2 inches in diameter and 12 inches long.  This is the perfect shape for slicing Brie to add to crackers or crostini.  Truly wonderful.

So for tonight I bought a baguette and a log of Brie.  I have a jar of apricot and peach preserves in the fridge.  I can’t imagine why.  I assume it’s leftover from a previous recipe.  Slice the bread.  Slice the Brie.  Add Brie to bread and run it under the broiler.  Top with preserves and serve at room temperature.  Not bad for an “I-have-no-time-and-no-energy-but-must-rally-for-book-club” snack.

Good? Yep.
Easy? Do you even have to ask?
Good for company? Particularly for those folks who drop in unannounced.
Special shopping? Only the first time. After this you’ll be stocking this Brie all the time.

Leave a Reply

