Ten Minute Chicken Orzo Soup

It’s a cold and rainy work-at-home day here.  I have a ton to do, but really needed a warm lunch.  I haven’t eaten canned soup in 5 years so I don’t keep it in the house.  I really wanted soup.  Here’s where it comes in handy to do a little extra when you’re slicing and dicing.  I put together a yummy soup with leftover chicken and some whole wheat orzo.

As you know I keep chicken stock in the freezer.  I don’t want a lot of soup leftovers so I didn’t need a lot.  I thawed 2 cups in the microwave and put it in a pot to boil.  Once it was boiling I added the orzo to cook.  I also try to chop extra onions and celery whenever I’m doing it so I had  3 cups in a freezer bag.  While the orzo cooked I dumped half of the frozen onions and celery in a hot pan and let them cook at high heat until the water was gone.  Last night I needed some chicken to use at a training class for my pup so I roasted a few plain split breasts.  Plenty of leftovers there of plain diced chicken.  Dump the chicken and vegetables in the orzo pot.  Add salt and pepper.  I also had some parsley and half a partially squeezed lemon.  The perfect finishing touches.  Lemon juice introduces a bright flavor and parsley makes the whole thing taste extra fresh.

If you’ve got leftover cooked rice, use that.  Use whatever vegetables you have.  Frozen  mixed vegetables or edamame would be perfect in this.  If you have lime and cilantro instead of lemon and parsley, terrific.  If you like a kick throw in a jalapeno or some hot sauce.

Warm, low cal and super fast.  The perfect rainy day lunch.

Good? Yep.
Easy? Sinfully so.
Good for company? Nope.
Special shopping? Nope, that would be completely missing the point.

Leave a Reply

