Leftovers Plus Shrimp

We’re down to the last 2 nights at the beach and I’m not interested in throwing away leftovers. I abandoned the plan to make fish tacos (a major sacrifice considering how much I love them) and decided to doctor the coconut rice and beans instead.   I decided I couldn’t leave the Carolinas without having some Carolina shrimp so I went to the seafood market and picked up a pound.  The perfect way to stretch the remaining rice and beans into a real dinner for two.

I had half an onion and half a poblano pepper and a clove of garlic left from earlier in the week so I sauteed those and added them, and a little water, to the now mixed rice and beans.  A little extra kick is exactly what the rice needed.  I dutifully peeled and deveined the shrimp and shook them in a tupperware container with some chili powder, cumin, salt and pepper.  A little canola oil heated until it smokes and add the shrimp for about 3 minutes.

I served dinner in bowls.  Rice and beans on the bottom; topped with sauteed shrimp; a lime wedge and a few slices of avocado on the side.  Yum!  If you need a little extra sweet sprinkle some of the sweetened coconut over the bowl.

Good? Yep, better than the first time around.
Easy? Yep, just reheat the leftovers and add shrimp. Easy peasy.
Good for company? I don’t generally serve leftovers to company and rice and beans is much prettier when it’s not mixed together so I’m going to go with no.
Special shopping? Nope. I assume even frozen shrimp would work if you saute them in oil hot enough to make the edges crisp a touch.

Leave a Reply

